Technique Tuesday- Marker Thumping or Tapping

This morning I would like to share a great technique that I have been experimenting with: Marker Thumping or Tapping. I showed this technique at my stamp clubs this month, and it is very easy. It is a great way to create an all-over multicolored image using only an ink pad and markers.

Marker Thumping/Tapping:  Ink a stamp with an ink pad. Take a darker colored marker and start tapping or “thumping” on the inked stamp to add the darker color.                   *Tap with the side of the marker to prevent the marker tip from damage.                Continue to “thump” the marker on the image until your have a marbled look, or use additional colored markers to get more color variation.                                                     *Start with the lightest color marker and work your way to the darker color.                 You may need to “Huff” or breath on the stamp to remoisten the inked image before stamping.

There is a nice tutorial on Splitcoaststampers (click to view).

For the card above I inked the image from the Blooming with Kindness stamp set (p.87 ) in Baja Breeze ink pad first. I then used the Midnight Muse marker to add the second color by thumping the marker over the inked stamp (then I used the Early Espresso marker to color the stem). I then stamped the image on the Vanilla card stock circle-             WAH LAH! Beautiful!!                                                                                                                       I also used the new Large Scallop Edgelit (p.190) and the Delicate Designs embossing folder (p.188).  I used Comfort Cafe’ dsp (p.163), the small oval punch, and the Little Labels Punch Pack (p.183-184). *I punched out 2 small labels and then added that to the back of the small oval punch to give the illusion of one larger decorative label.  The “for you” is just part of the word stamp “I’m here for you” and I used my Early Espresso marker again to just ink the ” for you” part of that.  Finally, I added the die cut circle to a die cut scalloped circle, before adding the image to the card.

I love this easy and beautiful technique….give it a try!  Come back tomorrow for some more marker thumping/tapping.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

