Sketch Challenge: CCMS 209

Hello!

Well, I thought I would try a sketch challenge today, for a change. I just love this great layout from Create with Connie and Mary Challenge, and sometimes all you need for a little inspiration is a nice sketch to jump start your creative juices!

This layout caught my eye, since I love the look of banners and I really liked the little flagged banner on the left of this design. I choose to stick with the color combination, as well, and used Pool Party, Soft Suede, Summer Starfruit, Cajun Craze, and Very Vanilla. I also used a piece of dsp (designer series paper) from the new Comfort Cafe’ Stampin’ Up! dsp (p. 163). This is a GREAT dsp!  It can be used for both masculine and feminine cards, since there are floral patterns on one side of the paper and geometrics on the opposite side. It is definitely one of my favorites!

 

I used the Language of Friendship stamp set (p.74) and the coordinating punches, which makes life so easy! I added some little flower layers using the Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack (p.183) and pearls. I used the new Fancy Fan Folder and the ole’ standby, Perfect Polka Dots Folder (p. 189). I also added the Cajun Craze strip cut using the Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border and then “stitched” with linen thread, for the accent piece on the banners. The last detail to note is the Summer Starfruit banner. I used the Faux Suede technique by pulling my bone folder across the card stock (on both sides of the paper- repeatedly) to break down the fibers. Gently pull apart the layers of card stock and you are left with two pieces that will have a soft suede look where they split apart….BEAUTIFUL EFFECT! This is a technique that I just love, since it has a shabby chic feel and easy adds a bit of texture.

SO, there is my card…I hope you try this sketch and see what a little inspiration can do for you too!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

