Faux Patina Technique

It’s time for another Technique Tuesday. I am sharing a beautiful technique that I learned recently from Splitcoaststampers.com, Faux Patina (click on the link for the tutorial). It looks so impressive and has a great antique feel. I just absolutely love it!  I showed my stamp clubs this technique in May and here are a few of the sample that I made.

These two cards used the same color combinations as the tutorial on Splitcoaststampers: starting with Crumb Cake ink on the embossing folder, and then sponging Marina Mist, Always Artichoke, and Early Espresso inks on the embossed piece of card stock. The last layer is a light tapping of  versamark ink and some gold embossing powder. Wahlah!!           The card on the left was inspired by PJStamps (click to see her card). I think the Field Flowers stamp set (p.78) is just perfect for this technique…very vintage! The card on the right is using a retired stamp set, Flores suaves, from last year’s Celebrando Creatividad catalog (SU! Spanish Catalog). I was sorry to see this set retire; it was one of my favorites.

These two cards used some different color combinations. The card on the left used Crumb Cake ink on the embossing folder (as above), however I sponged Perfect Plum, Concord Crush, and Elegant Eggplant on the embossed image, before adding the gold embossing powder with versamark ink. I used the Creative Elements set (p.126) and used lovesrubberstamps card as my inspiration (click to see her card).  The card on the right used Crumb Cake ink on the embossing folder, and then I sponged with Pumpkin Pie, Tangerine Tango, and Early Espresso. I used gold embossing powder again as the last layer and I used the Fabulous Florets stamp set (p.83).

This final card is a slightly different, because rather than using gold embossing powder as my last layer, I used Champagne Mist shimmer paint. I just dabbed a little onto a sponge dauber and lightly rubbed over the embossed image, after sponging with Pool Party, Marina Mist, and Basic Gray. This card has a shimmery effect without the texture of the embossing powder….looks like old metal to me. ALSO, a great look!! I used the Just Believe stamp set (p.77) for this card.

So, if you have not already tried the Faux Patina Technique, I really hope you do. It is just beautiful and will bring a WOW factor to your card!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

