Technique Tuesday on a Wednesday!

Hi All!  Well, I am a day behind on this Technique Tuesday post, but better late than never, I guess…

I shared these pop-up cards at my stamp clubs in May. They were a big hit, and once everyone saw how easy they were to create, it made them seem very do-able. It really brings a big WOW factor when you open the cards. I really think they are fun to make too!  I first saw a great card with some directions on Add Ink and Stamp (Lisa Young’s blog). Click to see her awesome tutorial with images.

SO, I decided this would be a fun card to try out and here are a few of my ideas.

Start by scoring your card stock at the center and folding your card at that score line.                                With the card stock folded, I cut a 1-3/4″ slit (from the scored edge inward) at 1″ from the bottom edge of the white card stock. I then cut a second 1-3/4″ slit at 3/4″ above that first slit (to form the first layer of the cake). Then I moved 3/4″ above that second slit and cut a 1-1/2″ slit, moved again 3/4″ and made a 1-1/4″ slit, and moved again 3/4″ and made the last slit 1″ long (these will form the other 3 layers of the cake). Once you have all the slits made you will make a crease at the ends of the score lines, so that the layers can be folded out while the rest of the card stock base is folded in or back to the original card score line. I decorated my “cake” with DSP, a piece of scalloped trim cut with a punch, and punched out flowers with pearls.  EASY!!

 
This is a second CAKE card that I made. I used the same cutting dimensions at the wedding card above.

This Flower card is slightly different. I only made two slits to form the flower pot. I cut a 1-1/4″ slit at 1″ from the bottom edge of the white card stock (after scoring at the center, folding at the score line, and cutting from the scored edge, as in the above directions). Then I moved 1-1/2″ above that slit and cut another slit  1-1/4″ long.  Fold at the ends of the slits to create that piece that will then “POP” out rather than fold back with the rest of the card base. I embellished this card using some pre-cut flowers from Stampin’ Up! along with some punched out flowers and leaves, and just paper strips for the stems. Attach some flowers to the back of the card, some to the pot, and inside the pot to create that great POP UP effect. Really nice and just so fun too!

I hope you will try this fun and EASY pop up card. You will be so glad that you did!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technique Tuesday on a Wednesday!

  1. Joni says:

    Very cute! Looks too complicated for me! Love your blog. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

