More POP-UPS!

Well, I have a couple more POP-UP card ideas that I would like to share today.

These cards are going a step further than the cards I posted yesterday. They have several pop-ups inside the card, and are just as easy as yesterday’s cards that POPPED just along the middle score line.

The first card I received from my good friend and upline, Jen….she is a master stamper and a great mentor!! She used the Aviary stamp set (p.101) and she got her original inspiration from Stampin’ Up!’s Workshop WOW DVD available to SU! demonstrators. I would love to tell you the name of the talented SU! demo who showed it on that, but I do not have available to me….so thanks whoever you may be, it is really a great idea!

Here are a couple of my cards, that I created using the same idea.

I used several retired stamp sets on this card: Trendy Trees, Funky Four, and Furry Folk.

 

I used the Nature Walk stamp set (p.79)on this card. Also added a “belly band” around the card to hold it closed (this is an alternate idea to the ribbon tied around Jen’s card).

So, “How do you create this fabulous card?”, you may ask…WELL, not as hard as it looks. As in the cards that I shared in yesterday’s post, you will score at the center of your card stock, BUT you will also score again at the half-way point of the center score and left edge of card AND the half-way point of center score and right edge of the card.                                        On this card, I cut the Natural Ivory piece 5″ x 8″ and then scored the center at 4″, and the two other scores were at 2″ and 6″ (This Natural Ivory piece is then attached to the  5-1/2″ x 8-1/2″ Not Quite Navy card base).

After you have all your score lines, you will stamp your images on that piece, making sure to CENTER some of the images that you want to POP IN or OUT on the score lines. Once you have your stamping complete you will then fold the score lines and cut your slits on either side of the image (just to the edge of the image or slightly past). I usually fold my score line (before cutting) SO I CAN SEE THE IMAGES while cutting, that way I know where to stop. You will then fold the card stock at the ends of the two slits (on either side of the image) to make that area between the slits fold the opposite direction of the original score line.

So, as you can see from the image, you will only attach the left and right edges of the Natural Ivory piece to the card base, and the 2″and 6″ score lines will fold back against the card, while the middle score line at 4″ with fold OUT away from the card. That will result in the POP OUTS on the lateral score lines and the POP INS on the middle score line.

TA DA!!  Another impressive POP-UP card, that really is easy once you know the tricks.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

