Third Round of Marker Thumping Technique

Well, I hope you are up for a couple more cards using the Marker Thumping/Tapping technique. I explained the technique a couple days ago, if this is your first look at this great technique (go back to see the specifics). The cards that I will be sharing today are using several markers to add multiple colors to the stamp. Just a small variation, of the same basic technique.

This card is done using the Elements of Style stamp set (p.113), the Everything Eleanor stamp set (p.112), and the Itty Bitty Banners stamp set (p.134). The background was created using a Crumb Cake ink pad and “thumping” the Calypso Coral and Early Espresso markers onto the rubber prior to stamping on the White card stock. I had to do this several times to cover the sheet of card stock (remember to clean off your stamp before you re-ink, so that you do not get dark colored ink onto your light colored ink pad). The flowers were embossed on Crumb Cake card stock and cut out by hand. I used my Calypso Coral marker to color the flowers and added some white gel pen. The banner was cut using the Bitty Banner Framelits (p.191), and the distressed image from Everything Eleanor was also cut out by hand.

This card was done using the Gently Falling stamp set (p.86). I used a card from Trina Kuriger as my inspiration (click HERE to see her lovely card). I loved the card layout, so I stuck with that and used the marker thumping technique rather than sponging on ink, as see did. I inked up the solid leaf stamps in Daffodil Delight and then added Pumpkin Pie and Cajun Craze ink with markers. After stamping the solid images, I then stamped over top with the outlined image stamp and Early Espresso ink, and then cut them out.  I added Early Espresso DSP (p.156) that I had clear embossed with the smaller leaf image.  The zig zag edge was cut with the new Finishing Touches Edgelits (p.190). The card base is Natural Ivory card stock.

I hope you enjoyed seeing all the great things you can create with just an ink pad and markers. Basic tools equals an easy technique!

 

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Third Round of Marker Thumping Technique

  1. stempelwolfinge says:

    I like how the background of that flowercard looks.

Leave a Reply

