Technique Tuesday: Flip Cards!

This week’s technique is a fun card that moves when you open it! The front of the card flips back and gives a great WOW factor. I had seen several of these types of  FLIP CARDS, but never tried making one. Then a fellow demonstrator shared some of her cards, and showed me how to do it.  It is really EASY!  Here is an example of a Flip Card that I made.

 

I used the Labels Collection Framelits (p.191) to make the partial cut on the front of the card, and the Apothecary Art stamp set (p.102) for the main image.

So…this is how I did it:

Start by scoring your card at the middle, and then again at the midpoint of the center score and the left edge of the card front (in this case I scored at center- 5-1/2″, and midpoint of front- 2-3/4″).

Lay the card out flat on your cutting plate and Multipurpose platform, and place the Framelit on the inside of the card front (I like to use a little post-it note to keep it from moving or shifting while I run it through the Big Shot). Center your Framelit (the points on this Framelit makes it easy to get it centered on the score line).

Next place your second cutting plate on top, matching the edge of the plate to the midpoint score line (or center of card front). This will allow the Framelit to only cut the left half of the design under the cutting plate (it will not cut the right side, because there is no cutting plate to apply the pressure needed on that side).

This is what is looks like after running it through the Big Shot.

 

Then fold the left edge of the card front back and the Framelit design cut will stay flat. Decorate by adding another Framelit over this center area to cover the score line left behind. I also added a piece of Pool Party card stock to the inside and left side of the card front on the card above to give it a little more color.

The possibilities are endless with this idea and it really is a WOW!                                     So, don’t be afraid to try it….it is easier than it looks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Technique Tuesday: Flip Cards!

  1. Wow! This is awesome. Thank you so much for sharing. I have hundreds of Framelits and Spellbinders Dies that I can use this technique with.

  2. pat danley says:

    Thank you for sharing this, I had made a card like this at a stampin up party but had forgotten how,am a new user of Pintrest which I love.

  3. Julia Baker says:

    what size cardstock did you use.i love this card

  4. Alice says:

    Thank you for sharing your creativity with us, it’s easy just like you said!

  5. Terry says:

    Thanks for sharing this, I’m going to try it.

  6. Barb Lackie says:

    Loved thatideal thanks for sharing i,m save it to try out later.

  7. CeCe Cannon says:

    Thank you for taking the time to share. I’m going to have a lot of fun with this design!

Leave a Reply

