Technique Tuesday- Inked Embossing Folders

It’s Tuesday!! (What happened to Monday!?) Well, sorry I am a little behind, but I got to stamp with my friends yesterday and that is my “excuse” for not posting. I did get a few cards put together to share, so it is all good!

I thought I would share a little technique this morning. Inked Embossing Folders: It is a simple technique which really adds a lot of punch to embossing folders (I love embossing folders!! They are such a great tool, and I have A LOT of them!). Just apply ink to the embossing folder, either with a brayer or by rubbing the ink pad directly onto the folder, then place the card stock into the folder, and run it through the Big Shot. The ink will be added to the card stock piece on the recessed areas, and the raised or embossed areas will stay the original color of the card stock.

On this card, I used Soft Suede ink on the Woodgrain embossing folder (p.33- Holiday catalog) and use Soft Suede card stock. You can see how the raised areas do not have ink and the recessed areas are darker from the ink. It is very striking and I think it really adds a lot of punch to that embossed piece.

The card base was inked twice, once in Chocolate Chip and once in Whisper White, using the Woodgrain background stamp (p.127). I shifted the card stock slightly when I inked it the second time, which gives it a little dimension. I then added some shading to the edge by sponging on some Crumb Cake ink. I used Comfort Cafe’ DSP for the banner strips and I used the new Wonderfall stamp set and coordinating Autumn Accents die (p.33- Holiday catalog). These were added to a 2-1/2″ circle punched out of Summer Starfruit card stock, and added a suede button and linen thread.

This really feels like FALL!  Give this simple technique a try….you will love it!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

