Freshly Made Birthday Card

Good Morning!  I worked on this card last night and thought I would do an “untypical” Saturday post. I was looking through some of my favorite blogs, and decided to use this nice sketch from Freshly Made (click to see some of the other great ideas). 

I was trying to get a little motivation for a birthday card that I wanted to make for my cousin.  He has a BIG birthday this month, so I wanted to wish him a good day.

I used some retired DSPs from Mocha Morning Specialty dsp and Newsprint dsp.  The card base is Soft Suede, and I added Black and Vanilla layers. I used a variety of birthday word stamps from several different stamp sets, and my Stamp-a-ma-jig to get the right placement of all the words.                                                                                                          The “60” was cut out with the Timeless Type Alphabet Sizzlits (also retired) in Cherry Cobbler. I used two layers of Glassy Glaze embossing powder to give the numbers a really nice shine and dimension.  I layered the numbers on a vanilla 1-3/8″ punched circle (p.184) and a black scalloped circle cut using the Large Delicate Doilies Sizzlit (p. 191).  I added Cherry Cobbler ribbon as the final accent and popped it off the card using stamping’ dimensionals.

So there you have it…. A prize winning 60th birthday card!!                                                        Don’t forget to jump on over to the Freshly Made site to check out all the other wonderful ideas using this sketch. Have a great Labor Day weekend!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freshly Made Birthday Card

  1. Jen Mitchell says:

    How cool that you created a birthday montage for the “big” birthday! Love it! Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches!

  2. Jen Sannes says:

    I love how you created your own number embellishment for this fabulous birthday card. Thanks for playing along with this week’s sketch!

Leave a Reply

