Time for another Technique Tuesday

Good morning and are you ready for another edition of Technique Tuesday?!   This past weekend, I met with several of my stamp clubs and we revisited an “old” technique, Emboss Resist, which many of them had seen before….but a few got to see it for the first time, and I think they really liked it. It is a pretty easy technique and makes for some very beautiful cards. I have always liked this technique, and so it was nice to share it with my stamp club ladies.This card was inspired by a card that I saw made by Allison Ohran…thanks for the great idea! I used the Delicate Doilies stamp set (p.110) as the focal point of this card. I stamped the image with versamark ink on Vanilla card stock and heat embossed it using clear embossing powder. The embossed image will now resist any other ink added over top, so I used a sponge and added Soft Suede ink. I added a lighter shade around the outside and then rubbed more to create the darker area in the center of the doily. I then used my Log Cabin Smooch Spritz (unfortunately not available in the current SU! catalog) on the image. After letting it dry for a bit, I used a tissue to wipe away any ink that may be on the embossed image. This is really an important step, since the ink will not dry or adhere to the embossed areas, it will stay wet and will come off eventually (probably where you don’t want it to) if you do not wipe it away.   I layered this onto a piece of Early Espresso card stock. The card base is also Early Espresso with a layer of Very Vanilla, which was also sprayed with the Log Cabin Smooch Spritz and sponged around the edges with the Soft Suede ink. I added a die cut doily which was cut using the Paper Doily Sizzlit (p.191) and tied with Crochet Trim ribbon (p.173). The final touch was a Antique Brad (p.174) in the center of the embossed doily.  I love the vintage feel of this card, and the die cut doily goes really nicely with the stamp set. 

This is an “old” card, that I had from a while ago, using the same technique. I used the Lovely as a Tree stamp set (p.84). This is one of my all-time favorite stamp sets. It has been around for ages, but I just never tire of it….I hope Stampin’ Up! never retires it!        I used the Woodgrain background stamp (p.127) on the card base, which is a great compliment to the stamp set too.

Well, that is all for today. I will be sharing a few more of my Emboss Resist cards in the next few days, so come back for some more ideas!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

