Hello Again!!

Well, I’m finally getting around to posting some more cards from my recent stamp club meetings. I have had a stamp filled September, and this past week just got away from me without a single blog post!   UGH!!                                                                                                   I had a Stampin’ Up! Open House the beginning of this week, and I was so happy to see several of my stamping friends and customers. I really appreciate my customers. They are what keep me stamping, and motivated to learn new things to share. They are awesome friends and I really enjoy being around them.                                                                      Thanks to you all for your support of my business and your friendship….I could not do it without you!!

So, now for some cards!…..Last week I mentioned that I would post a few more cards showing the Emboss Resist technique, so here are a few of those.

This card was inspired by a card by Heather Cooper (click to see her card). I did change the colors, the ribbon, the words, and the layout slightly.                                                     This card is super simple and so pretty. It all begins with the background stamp, Pleasant Poppies (p.129). I stamped the larger image on Crumb Cake card stock using Early Espresso ink, then I cut out a 3″circle from Primrose Petals card stock using the 3″ Circle die (p.193).  I stamped the poppy image again (centering on the flowers) on this circle using versamark ink and embossed it with clear embossing powder. I added the Early Espresso ink over the top of the embossed image using a brayer to insure good, dark coverage. Remember to wipe the ink off of the embossed area with a tissue, and you will see the Primrose Petals card stock through the clear embossed areas. The embossed image will resist the ink….so you need to wipe it away or it will end up on your fingers!    I then attached the emboss resist circle to the card by lining up the flower images with the stems from the larger image. The words are from the Made for You stamp set (p.44) and the butterfly is from Papillion Potpourri (p.115). I stamped the butterfly on a scrap piece of Crumb Cake card stock and cut it out with my paper snips and added it to the card using a mini glue dot, so it has a little dimension. The card base is Early Espresso  with a layer of Primrose Petals under the Crumb Cake card stock. Finally, I added a 3/8″ Stitched Satin Ribbon in Primrose Petals (p.172). The Stitched Satin Ribbon is the featured product in Stampin’ Up!’s promotion during September. For every $40 spent in merchandise you receive a roll of the Stitched Satin Ribbon for free (your choice of 5 colors!).                     I really love this ribbon.  It is so easy to work with and has a beautiful sheen. It is available in the 5 new in-colors: Gumball Green, Midnight Muse, Primrose Petals, Raspberry Ripple, and Summer Starfruit.

The next card was inspired by a beauty from Jan Tink (click to see). I loved how she used the Natural Composition Specialty paper (p.162) to do the Resist technique. The paper has a variety of glossy, raised patterns printed on heavy-weight Natural paper, so it is like having an embossed image all ready to go.  I simplified my card a little compared to hers, but it is still quite pretty because of this paper.  I used the Serene Silhouettes stamp set (p.75) and the words are from the Loving Thoughts stamp set (p.136).  The card base is Night of Navy. The striped DSP is Night of Navy from the Regals Collection Designer Series Paper (p.155). I also used the Labels Collection Framelits (p.191) and the Scalloped Border punch (p.183). I stamped the birds and branch image onto Natural Ivory card stock using Night of Navy ink and added a little sponging around the edge. I Layered that piece onto another piece of Night of Navy card stock. I used a sponge to add the Night of Navy ink to the Natural Composition Specialty paperI rubbed more ink in some areas and less in others to give it some variation, and then wiped off the excess with a tissue again, so that the ink would not be covering the glossy areas of the paper. Finally, the banner was cut by hand out of vanilla card stock and I added two brads.                          That is my version of Jan’s card. Hope you like it and come back tomorrow for MORE great Emboss Resist ideas!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

