WOW,Three Days in a Row!!

So, I’m back again…and so are you!  Thanks for stopping by to see what else I have come up with to share with you. I have been focusing on the Emboss Resist technique the last few days and today I wanted to show you a little variation of that same technique called Emerging Color.

Emerging Color is very similar to Emboss Resist, however with this technique you would add color or images to the card stock before stamping the overlying image with versamark ink and heat embossing with clear powder. This way, you will see whatever was on the card stock through the clear embossed image.

On this card, I started by sponging Summer Starfruit, Not Quite Navy, and Soft Suede ink onto a vanilla piece of card stock. I then stamped the “splotch image” from the French Foliage stamp set (p.86) with Early Espresso ink onto the sponged piece of card stock to add a little bit of interest.                                                                                                               At this point, it is very important to make sure that the ink is dry before you add the versamark image over top. I usually use my embossing buddy and a tissue to make sure it is dry and free of static before the next step.                                           Next just as in the Emboss Resist technique, I stamped the larger image from the Postage Due set (p.108) onto the sponged piece of card stock and heat embossed with clear powder. Then use a brayer and cover the entire piece with Soft Suede ink and remove any ink covering the embossed areas. WAHLAH! You will see the color and “splotches” through the embossed areas. This is a great variation of the Emboss Resist technique and just steps it up a bit.

I added a couple of the postage stamp images from the same stamp set and raised one of them up using a stampin’ dimensional. The card base is Soft Suede, the layer is Summer Starfruit, the DSP is a piece of Soft Suede from the Neutrals DSP (p.156), the ribbon is 1/8″ Taffeta Ribbon in Early Espresso (p.172), and the border is punched using the Dotted Scallop Ribbon border (p.183) from Not Quite Navy card stock.

So, that is Emerging Color! Give it a try, it is worth the steps and gives your cards a WOW factor!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

