Fab Friday 03 Challenge

So, I found another great sketch challenge blog, called Fab Friday (click to see the site). This is the challenge for this go around:

This is a new blog, but I already love it!  They have some great sketches that are clean and simple….JUST PERFECT!This is what I came up….I’m am really in the Halloween mood lately. I spent a couple days this week getting my house all decorated and it feels very spooky around here!           This card started with a little inspiration from a card that I saw by Deb Valder.  She used a great Moonlight technique to make the witch really look like she was flying in the night sky, and I had to try that. It is a simple idea, but adds a lot of WOW to the card. Just stamp or emboss your image and add sponging of darker shades of ink around the edges to create a light center and darker outer edge.

I used the Toxic Treats stamp set (p. 25 of the Holiday catalog) and embossed it with black embossing powder on Daffodil Delight card stock. I added some Pumpkin Pie ink and Cajun Craze ink around the outer edge of the image with a sponge. I cut the image out with the Labels Collection Framelits (p.191). I popped this image up using stampin’ dimensionals and added another layer in black behind it. I cut 3 banners using the Neutrals DSP and the Howlstooth & Scaringbone DSP. I used the new Lacy Brocade embossing folder (p.6 of the Holiday catalog) on the Pumpkin Pie layer, and I used the zig zag Finishing Touches Edgelit (p.190) on the black layer. The card base is Pumpkin Pie also. So, there it is a little Toxic Treats combined with a great Fab Friday sketch.

Have a great weekend and hope you find a little time to stamp!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fab Friday 03 Challenge

  1. Pooja says:

    Lovely card ! Thanks for sharing the technique and challenge blog too..

  2. Amanda Mertz says:

    Fun! I really like this sponging technique! It really looks as if she’s flying through the sky. Thanks for sharing with us at Fab Friday!

  3. Amy Downing says:

    Classic Colors, and a great combo for this layout! Love your effects on the main image with the colors, and your banner strips are fabulous!

  4. Marla Reed says:

    This is great! Love the sponging and embossing on the witch. It really makes her pop! Thanks for playing at Fab Friday!

  5. Pam Steckman says:

    I love the stamp set and the embossing folder together! What a great job! Thanks so much for joining us at Fab Friday!

  6. Cindy Beach says:

    What a great take on the sketch, Miechelle. LOVE the technique on the witch flying across the moon. Thanks so much for joining us to play at Fab Friday!

  7. Mindy Backes says:

    Super spooky! I love the sponging on the main image, reminds me of the moon! Thanks for playing at Fab Friday!

  8. Brenda Myers says:

    Very elegant and spooky!! I really need to use that set before Halloween passes me by!!

Leave a Reply

