Happy Monday and a Hawkeye Victory!

This is a card that I made to send to my son at college. I actually sent this to him last year for the Iowa vs. Minnesota game, but I really wanted to share it, especially since Iowa had a homecoming victory over the weekend against MN. The card front may not be anything too special, but the inside is where the WOW happens!I did a POP UP CARD, and I was so happy with the way it turned out.

For those of you who do not know, there is a little bit of a rivalry between Iowa and Minnesota, and the winner of the game each year gets to take home the Floyd of Rosedale trophy (a big bronze pig).

So, that is why there is a big pig popping out on this card!  I used an old retired Stampin’ Up stamp set, called Walk this Way, for the pig.  I have a nice collection of Iowa stamps that I use repeatedly on my Iowa themed cards. And, the football, I cut out by hand and just attached white strips of card stock to add the details.  The pop up feature on this card is done just by adding strips of white card stock, to match the background paper, and attaching those to the images that will be popping out. I fold the strips where they connect to the card AND where they connect to the pop up image. This allows it to fold flat when the card is closed and pop out when opened.

SUPER EASY!!

My son loved this card, so that was great….BUT Iowa did not win last year and Floyd had to spend the year in Minnesota.  He finally got to come home on Saturday, after the Hawkeyes beat the Gophers: 31-13!  GO HAWKS!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Monday and a Hawkeye Victory!

  1. Pooja says:

    Wonderful card ! Loved the pop up.

  2. StampinU says:

    Thanks so much!! I really appreciate your comments and thanks for following my blog!

Leave a Reply

