Technique Tuesday: Split Negative

I tried this great technique last month for my stamp clubs, and I think it is a striking look. It got lots of oohs and aahs at my club, so must be worth a try!I used the Day of Gratitude stamp set (p.27)for this card.  I just love the black and white contrast. It just really catches your eye. Here is a brief description of how you do this technique.

Split Negative:  Cut one piece of neutral cardstock and one piece of dark colored cardstock the same size as the wood or acrylic block for the main image (this will make for easier placement).                                                                                                              Stamp the image with versamark ink onto the dark cardstock (line up the corner of the block with the corner of the cardstock). Emboss with white powder.                              Repeat the previous step using a dark powder on the neutral piece of card stock.         *you may use any light and dark colors, however white and black give the most contrast.   Cut the two cardstock pieces in half, after embossing, adhere opposite images to a coordinating cardstock to create the contrast image.

If you cut out the main image, either by hand or using a punch or framelit, you do not need to cut your neutral and dark pieces of card stock exactly the same size. It is much easier to line up the image this way also.

Here is a step by step tutorial for this technique, courtesy of Splitcoaststampers.com (click to see the tutorial).

This is another card that I did using the Toxic Treats stamp set (p.25 in the Holiday catalog). I also used the Etruscan Elegance jumbo wheel (p.25 of the Holiday catalog). I cut the main image out using the Labels Collection Framelits (p.191) and cut the image in half on the diagonal for this one. I used Black and Tangerine Tango embossing powders and card stock to create the split negative effect. I colored the rhinestones with my black Sharpie marker to turn them black too (it is a little hard to see the shine of the rhinestones in the picture, but they do still have a shine). Spooky, huh?!

This is my last card to share today. For this one I used the Blooming with Kindness stamp set (p.87). I embossed the image with Early Espresso onto white card stock and White embossing powder onto Early Espresso card stock, and then punched them out using my 2-1/2″ circle punch (p.185). I then cut the circles in half at about the same spot in the image and lined up the opposite pieces to form the contrasted image. (You will end up with 4 pieces to make 2 cards!) I layered these onto an Early Espresso die cut scalloped circle (retired die from Stampin’ Up) and then layered that onto a  Wild Wasabi layer cut using the Floral Frames Framelits (p.191). The banners (Wild Wasabi) are cut from the Subtles Collections of DSP and the larger piece of Pretty in Pink DSP is from the same collection. I used a Crumb Cake card base and rubbed my white ink pad along the edges. Finally, the words are from the Made for You stamp set (p.44), and I used a marker to ink up ONLY the “for you” part of the “especially for you” stamp.

So, those are just a few ideas using the Split Negative technique. I will have more to show tomorrow, so come back for some more eye popping images! Have a great day and see you soon….

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technique Tuesday: Split Negative

  1. Pooja says:

    The technique is amazing..! Lots of oohs and aah’s from me too..!!

  2. StampinU says:

    So glad you like it….give it a try, it is really fun!

Leave a Reply

