Autumn Accents STEP UP!

Well, it has been a few days, but I’m back with a couple tips to share. I recently had an open house and this is the card that I offered as the make-n-take.

It was inspired by a card that I saw from Diana Gibbs (click to see her card).  I changed the color combo and some of the elements, but it was definitely CASED.                                  I uses the Autumn Accents die (p.33 of the Holiday catalog) and the Orchard Harvest DSP  (p.28 in the Holiday catalog). I used a variety of embossing folders (Houndstooth and Square Lattice-p.189 and Woodgrain-p.33 in Holiday catalog). I used a border punch for the zig zag edge, and the Curly Cute stamp set (p.138) for the words. And the final element is a neutral collection button tied with linen thread. The color combo was Early Espresso, Cajun Craze, and Lucky Limeade on a Crumb Cake card base.

So, my first tip for today is to think about how you can STEP UP a simple card to give it just a touch more interest. Here is my first STEP UP of this basic card.

I added another piece of DSP from the Orchard Harvest Designer Series Paper (in the woodgrain look), and I used the Large Scallop Edgelit (p.190) for the scalloped edge. I also switched the button to the Naturals Designer Buttons (p.176). The last change was the way that I embossed the leaves….this is my next tip for today!

I used the Woodgrain embossing folder (p.33 in the Holiday catalog) on all the leaves this time, but I scored them down the center, folded them in half, ran through the Big Shot in the Woodgrain folder, and WAH LAH!! I really cool way to give your die cut leaves an  interesting look.

Make sure that you place the leaf in the folder at an angle to get the veined look on the leaf. I really love how this looks and it is SO EASY too!!

So, this is the next STEP UP….I used the Core’dinations Card Stock (p.6 in the Holiday catalog) and embossed it using the Woodgrain folder. I then sanded it lightly to created that distressed look and lighter shade of woodgrain. The rest of the card is basically the same as the previous one, but I shaded the leaves with a sponge and ink after I embossed them and this really makes them have even more texture.

Those are my tips for today…STEP UP to the challenge and try to tweak your cards just a little for a BIG impact. Also, try that embossing technique on your leaves while the leaves are still falling…..it will be snow falling before you know it!!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

