Ornament Keepsakes to get you in the Holiday Spirit!

Well, it has been about a week since my last post and I am feeling a little guilty about that. Where did the week go!? I have several things to share from my recent stamp clubs, so I will start with a couple cards from the Ornament Keepsakes stamp set and Holiday Ornaments framelit collection (p.3 in the Holiday catalog).  These are also offered at a 15% discount if you buy the two items together as a bundle….that is a nice option since they go so well together, and who wouldn’t want the framelits to cut out all those beautiful ornaments!

This card was inspired by a card that I saw from Melissa Davies, and I just altered it slightly by adding the new Champagne glimmer paper (p.18 in the Holiday catalog). I really love this glimmer paper. It adds such a beautiful touch to any card. The scalloped border was cut with the Large Scallop Edgelit (p.190) and embossed with the Delicate Designs Folder (p.188). I  used River Rock ink on vanilla card stock and the word sentiment was from the Petite Pairs stamp set (p.134). I used stampin’ dimensionals to pop up a couple of the ornaments, as well as, the layer on the card base.This card was inspired by a card from Deb Valder.  She used this great Moonlight Technique which really creates a beautiful glow effect.  I love how the shading really highlights the ornament in the center, and I love the non-traditional color combo of Early Espresso, Vanilla, and Crumb Cake.  I really did not change a whole lot from her card, but I did use the Argyle embossing folder (p.189) rather than scoring for the background pattern. I turned the embossed image over so the argyle pattern was de-bossed rather than raised or embossed, and then sponged Early Espresso ink around the outer edges of the Crumb Cake embossed piece, before I attached it to the Vanilla card base.  I used the Window Frames Collection framelits (p.30 of the Holiday catalog), and added stampin’ dimensionals between all the layers. I added a little gold cord around the ornament as the last touch. Simple and Elegant…..just how I like it!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

