Ornaments using the Ornament Keepsakes Bundle

So, I had to try these beautiful ornaments, after seeing how simple they are to make.  I was encouraged to show this at my stamp clubs this month….so that was all I needed to purchase the Ornament Keepsakes Bundle and figure out how to make these. I found a really nice video at Dawn Olchefske’s blog and that was where I started. This is the ornament that they show how to make in the video, but once you watch that, it is easy to see how you make the others. I used Baja Breeze ink for this one, since I will be putting it on my “paper tree”. I have a little handmade tree that I put in my kitchen. It is a piece of a tree branch or small log that I drilled holes into and then cut apart a garland and stuck the pieces into the holes. My husband attached a circular piece of wood to the bottom for a base, and WAH LAH….a low budget tree!  I call it my “paper tree” because I decorate it with mostly items that I have made using paper and Stampin’ Up supplies. I have mostly things in blues, white, light green, and silver. That is why I decided on Baja Breeze, Island Indigo, and pewter embossing powder for these ornaments. The Vintage Faceted Designer buttons (p.176) look just beautiful on these ornaments, AND it is a great way to use them since the large ones are a little big for a card. I also used the new Snow Flurry die (p.14 in the Holiday catalog) which is also a great addition to the ornament. This one is a little more elaborate, and time consuming, but worth the effort….it is just gorgeous!! It is hard to appreciate on the image, but there is just a hint of sparkle there. I used iridescent ice embossing powder (p.159) on all the stamped pieces to give it a little sparkle. So, to be able to do that, it meant an extra step….I had to first ink my stamp with versamark ink and then ink again in Island Indigo ink before stamping the image on the white card stock. This allows the embossing powder to stick to the image, since I used the versamark pad to give it some stick. The classic ink pads do not stay sticky long enough for the embossing powder to stick to….so that is why the extra step.  If you have a craft pad, in the color you want to use, you do not have to do that versamark step. The powder will stick just perfectly to craft ink. I added some ribbon in between the petals, by just sticking them in the hot glue before it cooled.  Then I added a second layer of smaller size “petals” in between the larger ones. I just placed them in and added more hot glue (watch the above video for the basic directions). This one has a scored and folded scalloped border punch piece in the center which I attached using several stampin’ dimensionals piled about 3 high, so that it would attach and be flat on top. There is another Vintage Faceted button and a Large pearl (p.175).

These are NOT QUICK!!  But they are NOT HARD either…just take some time to stamp and cut out all the pieces for the “petals”.  I think they are just beautiful and will be a great addition to my paper tree!  Once the decorating fairy arrives, and puts up all the decorations…. including the paper tree…I will share some more photos!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 3-D Items and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

