Colored Metallics Technique

I missed Technique Tuesday this week, so I am sharing a technique today instead.  This is a technique that I showed my stamp clubs this month….Colored Metallics.                          It is a beautiful technique and very easy too….gotta love that!This card is quite appropriate for today, since Thanksgiving is tomorrow…hope you have your Thanksgiving cards sent.

The Colored Metallics technique is a great way to add an all over shine or metallic look with an additional bit of color. Start with gold or silver brushed metallic card stock (p.160). Use versamark ink and gold, silver, or pewter embossing powder to emboss an image onto the metallic card stock. After embossing, use a brayer to add ink to the metallic card stock. Cover the entire piece with ink, until you are satisfied with the color. Then use a tissue to remove the excess ink from the embossed areas (much like you would in the Emboss Resist Technique). The ink will NOT stick to the embossed areas and will only stick to the metallic card stock to create a beautiful colored metallic look.    *I like to use gold embossing on gold metallic card stock and silver or pewter embossing powder on silver metallic card stock.

I used gold metallic card stock and gold embossing powder on the above card. I used the Woodgrain background stamp (p.127) and Cajun Craze ink on the metallic card stock.  It is a little hard to appreciate the shine on the image, but it really does have a beautiful shine in real life. I also used the French Foliage stamp set (p.86) and the Teeny Tiny Wishes stamp set (p.133). The card base is Cajun Craze with a layer of River Rock under the gold metallic card stock.  This card is a little easier to see the overall shimmer of the colored metallic card stock. I used the Pleasant Poppies background stamp (p.129) on silver metallic card stock and pewter embossing powder. I used Real Red ink on the metallic card stock and the card base is Real Red with a layer of black card stock. The final touch is the new 1/2″Striped Satin ribbon (p.26 in the Holiday catalog).  Super quick and easy card with a lot of oohs and aahs!!Here is another great example of this technique. I used the Ex Libris background stamp (p.128) on Silver metallic card stock with silver embossing powder. I used Night of Navy ink to color the metallic card stock and the card base is also Night of Navy (the color does get muted quite a bit on the metallic card stock, so be sure to brayer a good layer of ink to cover the metallic nicely). I used the Field Flowers stamp set (p.78), the Four Frames stamp set (p.124), and the Memorable Moments stamp set (p.139).

These are some samples of cards that I did a couple of years ago using this same technique. I used several retire stamp sets from Stampin’ Up, but they are some good examples of this technique too. Hope you try this easy and beautiful technique…they really do have a lot of WOW factor!!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

