What Have I Been Up To?!

Well, you are probably wondering where I have been recently….I can’t believe it has been a week already since my last post. Where does the time go?! Christmas projects, shopping, and gift wrapping have been occupying a lot of it….but I have also been trying to get this little project done for a friend’s new baby boy. I have had the idea swimming around in my head for a while now, but finally sat down yesterday and put all those thoughts into this piece of name art. I’m really happy with how it turned out and hope she likes it too.Jack

I used chipboard letters that I had purchased from a local craft store (they were in a dark brown color and I wanted them black, so I painted them black and sprayed them with a glossy sealer).  I used my Scallop Square Clear Bigz die (p.192) to cut out the large scalloped square from some chipboard and felt. I glued the felt to the chipboard to give it a little stability. I used some larger eyelets in the corners to attach the squares for hanging. I layered another piece of chipboard covered with some DSP onto each of the felt scallop squares. (these chipboard pieces were from my collection of various chipboard embellishments that I have purchased over the years from Stampin’ Up). Finally, each square was decorated with either more chipboard stars or buttons and brads (many of these items are also retired pieces that I have accumulated). Here is a little closer look at the squares.Jack2Jack3

I really had fun making this….it is always nice to use up some of those old supplies that are sitting here waiting to become something. It feels very good to come up with an idea….think on it for a while…and then see it happen, but mostly it feels good to mark that off my list!!  Jack4

Thanks for stopping by today. I hope to have a little more time very soon to get a little more stamping done to share with you. My list is getting shorter…so at least that will not be an excuse anymore!!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 3-D Items and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Have I Been Up To?!

  1. Hi,

    I like that you used different colours then the standard bleu for a boy. The squares make me think of blocks.

Leave a Reply

