Happy 20th Birthday!

Ben-20Well, today is my son’s 20th birthday! I am amazed that 20 years have gone by and he is now a wonderful young man. He is a great guy and I am very proud of how he has grown up.                                                                                                                                                            So, I wanted to make a special card for this special birthday, and I started with the numbers. These were cut from Not Quite Navy card stock using a Cricut machine and are about 3″ high. I used Crystal Effects (p.177) to give them a nice glossy, raised effect. They really look like store bought chip board numbers….but for a fraction of the cost!                       The card base is also Not Quite Navy and I layered a piece of DSP (designer series paper) from the Well Worn collection (retired from Stampin’ Up). I cut a large circle out of Early Espresso card stock and layered that with an embossed piece of Crumb Cake card stock cut using the Window Frames Framelits (carried over from the Holiday catalog).  I used a non-SU embossing folder for the embossing on the Crumb Cake piece. I raised these layers up using stampin’ dimensionals and added the glossy 20. I stamped the Happy Birthday on a piece of Crumb Cake card stock, cut it into a banner, and used some mini glue dots and a stampin’ dimensional to attach it under and across the numbers. The final element is the piece of stitched Early Espresso grosgrain ribbon  and a ribbon slide (from the Holiday catalog). Ben-20:inside  On the inside, I added a strip of DSP and Early Espresso onto a Crumb Cake layer, and stamped a sentiment from the Vintage Verses stamp set (from the Sale-a-bration- SAB brochure).  This card has a lot of current, retired, and non-Stampin’ Up products. It is a total fusion of stamping supplies and I love to make cards that let me use anything in my stamping arsenal!  It feels really good when you can combine old with new. It brings a whole new feel to some of those “old” things gathering dust in my stamp room.Ben-20:2

Well, that wraps up this Birthday card. Hope you try to dust off some of your “old” stuff to create the perfect card for someone in your life. Have a great day and Happy Stamping!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy 20th Birthday!

  1. Kate Stockman says:

    Love your card. I just found your blog today. I’m also from Iowa. Could you email me your email? maybe it’s here somewhere, but I haven’t found it. I’d love to talk Stampin’ with you.
    katestockman@aol.com

Leave a Reply

