Just Spinning Along!

Well, I have had quite the gap between blog posts again!! It has been a busy last couple weeks with several stamp clubs, stamp workshops, and a card class….whew! I’m ready to get back in the routine of stamping and blogging…So, today I thought I would share some cards that I showed my stamp clubs this month: String Spinner or Suspension Cards.

They are really fun and very easy to make, so that is always good. I have made some of these cards in the past, but it has been a long time. With all the options of punches and framelits these days, it makes this technique even better with all kinds of new ideas. In the past, there was really only circle, oval, and square punches to use for this technique, so I have been having fun using all the new things available to make these spinners.Valentine spinner2Valentine spinnerIMG_5015

This is the card that got me inspired. I saw one very similar on Pinterest (just love that Pinterest!) and knew that I wanted to use it for my stamp club. It used the Heart Framelits (p.191) and the Heart punch (p.182).  I also used the new Honeycomb embossing folder (p.6 in the Spring catalog) and the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder (p.189). I used a piece of baker’s twine (p.172) for the spinner string.

Basically, the directions are as follows:                                                                             Suspension or String Spinner cards-  Create a suspended image using baker’s twine, linen thread, dental floss, embroidery floss, or quilting thread.  Cut or punch a window in the card base and an additional layer of paper or card stock. Attach the string over and under the window using sticky strip or mini glue dots. Add the second layer overtop, lining up the windows. This will also hide the ends of the string. Add a slightly smaller punched out image to the string, centering within the window, using tape or sticky strip. Then add a second punched out image to the back of the first to cover the string on both sides.

There is also a fantastic tutorial on Splitcoaststampers, which is nice to see the step by step directions.Butterfly spinnerbutterfly spinner 2

This card uses some of the new items from Stampin’ Up. I started with a Summer Starfruit card base and added a layer of DSP from the Sycamore Street designer series paper pack found in the Sale-a-bration brochure (Free with a  $50 purchase as part of SU’s annual Sale-a-bration promotion). I cut the window with a Labels Collection framelit (p.191). I used dental floss on this card as the spinner string and sandwiched that in-between two 1-3/4″ circles (these were also embossed with Perfect Polka Dot folder). Then I added the butterfly which was punched out using the Elegant Butterfly punch (p.184) and the new Bitty Butterfly punch (p.13 in the Spring catty). I used the Itty Bitty punch pack (p.183) to punch out the little flower and added a pearl to the center. Finally, I added a piece of Rich Razzleberry stitched grosgrain ribbon (p.173).blimp spinnerblimp spinner 2

This fun card features the new Cloudy Day embossing folder (p.28 in the Spring catty) and the Moving Forward stamp set (p.209).  The words are from the Up, Up & Away stamp set (p.37). I used the new Ovals Collections Framelits (p.4 in the Spring catty) to create the window and the spinner portion of the card. The card base is Pool Party with a layer of Whisper White card stock. I cut the cloud out by hand with my scissors, stamped the sentiment, and embossed with the Cloudy Day folder. Then I used stampin’ dimensionals to attach it to the card. I cut out the little banners by hand also and added them to the blimp image. I also used one of my punches from the Little Labels punch pack (p.183) to punch out the little “basket” under the blimp. I just stuck my card stock in the punch half way up and got that nice little scalloped lower edge. Finally, I used my heart embosslit (p.188) to cut out the small heart.  I used baker’s twine on this card for the spinner string.Heart spinnerheart spinner 2

This last spinner card is using the new Hearts a Flutter stamp set and Framelits (p.11 in the Spring catalog). These are sold as a bundle for a 15% savings….so you can’t beat that! The card base is Real Red and I also added a piece of DSP from the Polka Dot Parade designer series pack (p.164). I used circle punches for the spinner portion of the card (1-3/8″ and 1-1/4″). I used red embroidery floss for the spinner string. There is a piece of black 1/8″ taffeta ribbon (p.172) on either side of the white band of card stock.

It was fun coming up with some good ideas for these spinning cards. I love trying new things and even though this really wasn’t a new idea it was still fun to revisit this technique and see how many new ways there are to create this “old” idea. It’s nice to make a different kind of card that will bring a smile to the face of those on the receiving end. Thanks for stopping by and Happy Stamping!!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

