Who’s your Valentine?

Time to start getting all those Valentine’s Day cards ready and my most recent card class was centered all around this idea. These are a couple of the cards that we made. I like to keep my card classes fairly simple, but I also love to use lots of ribbon and embellishments to make the cards have a little WOW factor too. Valentine-You are Lovedvalentine13-inside

This first card was inspired by a card made by my upline and good friend, Jen.  I loved her card template idea….so that is where I started. I used the Heart Framelits (p.191) to cut out the heart shapes. I used Cherry Cobbler and Vanilla as my color combination. I used some retired designer series paper (DSP) called Deck the Halls….YES, Deck the Halls, a collection of Christmas themed papers, however this beautiful red design also feels like Valentines to me. (So, just because a DSP may be for Christmas, Halloween, or Easter…doesn’t mean it can’t be used for something else…check out some of your old paper to see what works for you!)  I used the You Are Loved stamp set (p.24) for the images and sentiment (inside the card). I popped up the vanilla heart with stampin’ dimensionals and wrapped the Cherry Cobbler seam binding ribbon (p.172) under the raised heart. The final bit is the little flower punched out using the Itty Bitty punch pack (p.183) and a pearl in the center. I like to make my little flowers have a “cup shape” to them. I take a stylus and a foam piercing mat and press the stylus into the center of the punched out flower on the mat, to give it this nice dimensional look.jen's valentine

This is Jen’s card which I also love, because it uses non-traditional Valentine colors and really has a nice fresh spring like feel to it. She stitched around the edge of the card and tied her ribbon over the heart. So, with just a few little changes and you can see how a basic idea can look different depending on the colors and accessories that you use.

ValentineXO

XO inside

This is another card that we made at my last card class. It also was inspired by another card that I saw online made by Colleen Begley.IMG_1867

I used her basic idea, however, I added the Baker’s twine (p.172) to the card and omitted the dots around the punched out heart. I stuck with her color combination, because I liked how it had a nice masculine feel to it. I did change the DSP and I used a piece from the Neutrals Collection (p.156). I also used a retired stamp set called, XOXO, for the stamped heart on the front and the sentiment on the inside of the card.  I used the Stripes embossing folder (p.189) and then added the punched out heart to the inside of the card. The stamped heart is punched out using the Small Heart punch (p. 183), and the gray heart layer is cut out using the smallest heart in the Heart Framelits collection (p.191). Finally, the littlest glitter heart is punched out using the Owl Builder punch (p.185). I just love that little heart in that punch and use it a lot!

So, that is today’s edition of Who’s Your Valentine?  Hope this gets you in the mood to get out your Valentine stamp sets, search through all your old DSP, and add some bling here & there for the perfect Valentine card for your Valentine!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

