Pocket Valentine

This is another Valentine card that I offered at my January card class.  It is a pocket card. I just love pocket cards and it is another “old” idea that I wanted to share with you.Valentine- Pocket card

I started with the Crumb Cake, Riding Hood Red, Chocolate Chip, and Whisper White color combination. These colors could either make it a masculine OR a feminine card…but I was kind of going for masculine on this one.  I cut my card base 4-1/4″ x 11″ and then scored at the 5-1/2″ and at 1-1/2″. Once you fold the card in half at the 5-1/2″ score, then you fold again at the 1-1/2″ (this forms the opening for the pocket).IMG_5041

I added a piece of Riding Hood red to the band area and then a ribbon around the whole card to keep the pocket closed. I did not use any other adhesive to keep the pocket closed, just the ribbon. Then, of course, you embellish it as desired.

I added a wheeled background (retired, I Love Love, jumbo wheel) onto the front of the pocket, and stamped a heart image (from the Filled with Love retired stamp set) which was cut using the Full Heart punch (p.182). The scalloped heart in white was cut with the Scalloped Heart of Hearts Embosslit (p.188), and the biggest heart layer was cut using the Heart from the retired Punch Windows, which goes with the retired Movers & Shapers die.pocket insert

The Pocket Insert is made up of a piece of 3-3/4″ x 5″ Chocolate Chip card stock and a layer of 3-1/2″ x 4-3/4″ piece of Whisper White. I used a Riding Hood Red tab stamped with another retired stamp (I’m really bringing out the old stamps today!!) and punched out with the retired Round Tab punch. The Be my Valentine is also from the retired stamp set: Filled with Love.

So, looks like the moral of this story is: Don’t forget about those old, retired stamps,  punches, and dies…pull them out, dust them off, and CREATE.  Maybe even CREATE a pocket card!!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pocket Valentine

  1. Hello,
    I like this concept a lot. On the insert you can write whatever you like without it imediately showing when the envelop is opened. The red tab on the insert is lovely.

Leave a Reply

