Time for a Technique!….Chalkboard Art Technique

Hello there! Well, it is a gloomy rainy day here, so time to catch up on some stamping. I wanted to share a great technique with you today. I have seen some wonderful cards recently using this striking technique. I have always liked white embossing on black card stock , but this adds a little extra “art” to that idea.

Chalkboard Art Technique: Use Black card stock, White embossing powder, White ink, and a White colored pencil to create some chalkboard art. Stamp the image or words onto black card stock with versamark ink or white ink. (*Remember to use your embossing buddy first, to prevent white spots from the embossing powder.)  Emboss with white embossing powder. Use a sponge or soft cloth to add a little white ink directly to the black card stock to represent chalk dust on your “chalkboard”.  Finally, add lines or doodles with a white colored pencil for an added touch. You do not need any special kind of colored pencil…just an ordinary white colored pencil from the kids’ section of the dept. store.chalkboard art-3

This card is very similar to a card that I saw somewhere online, but I don’t remember where or who created the original….but, I loved the little banners, and of course the Paper Doily (new in the Spring catalog p.5). The card base is Black with a layer of  Pool Party embossed with the Framed Tulip folder (p.189). I used the Vintage Verses stamp set from the Sale-a-bration brochure. I used white embossing powder to emboss the image, added some lines with a color pencil and a ruler, and rubbed some white craft ink onto the black card stock to create the dusty look. I added some hearts which were cut and embossed with the Fashionable Hearts embosslit (p.188). The tiny glitter heart is from the Owl Builder punch (p.185), and the larger glitter heart is punched out with the Small Heart punch (p.183). I used baker’s twine to hang the banners and Wisteria Wonder and Melon Mambo DSP for the banners.IMG_5038

This card uses several word stamps from different stamp sets. I did the same process of stamping and embossing with white embossing powder, adding lines with a colored pencil, and rubbing white craft ink onto the black card stock to create the dusty look. I think this makes a really striking card which could be used for any event depending on the word choice.chalkbrd art-2

This is another idea with a little more doodling added to the card. I started with the Oh, Hello stamp set (p.4 in the Spring catty). I added the flower image from the Lacy & Lovely stamp set (p.99). The ribbon is one of the new 3/8″ striped organdy ribbon-Marina Mist (p.30 in the Spring catalog). The card base is Pacific Point with two layers of black card stock.chalkbrd art-1

The last card for today features another stamp from the Vintage Verses stamp set in the SAB brochure, and the flower images are from the Elements of Style stamp set (p.113). I also used the Sycamore Street DSP from the SAB brochure and Bashful Blue card stock on a Whisper White card base. The scalloped edge was cut with the Finishing Touches Edgelits (p.190). I added a 3/8″ Stitched Satin Ribbon in Summer Starfruit (p.172). This card was inspired by a beautiful card that I saw on Geri’s Paper Wishes.

So, it is a great technique….it is really simple…AND it can be used for all types of cards. I hope you give it a try and don’t worry about getting dusty!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

