Technique Tuesday….Shadow Stamping

Shadow Stamping: Create a shadow effect by stamping an image once, then moving the                                               stamp slightly and stamping a second time to create a shadow.                                      Stamp the image using Versamark ink or Classic ink similar to the color of the card stock.                                Then re-ink the stamp using White Craft ink and stamp the image a second time slightly off the first image to create the shadow effect.                                                                         You can also get a similar effect if you use two similar ink colors                                         (such as Certainly Celery and Always Artichoke or Crumb Cake and Chocolate Chip)                                   and follow the same Two-Step stamping technique as above.shadow tech-1

This card is featuring the Serene Silhouettes stamp set (p.75). I stamped it in Crumb Cake ink onto a piece of Crumb Cake card stock, then stamped a second time in Early Espresso (just shifting the stamp over slightly to create that shadow). I cut this piece, and the Pumpkin Pie layer behind, with the new Oval Collection Framelits (p.4 in the Spring catty). I used the the new Occasions Paper-Piercing pack (p.27 in the Spring catty) also. I used the Early Espresso Core’dinations card stock and the Woodgrain embossing folder (p.36 in the Spring catty- carried over from the Holiday catty). The card base is Crumb Cake.shadow tech-2

This card uses the Sweet Floral background stamp (p.128) on a Marina Mist card stock piece. I used versamark to stamp it the first time and then used versamark ink and White embossing powder on the second image. I should have used my embossing buddy in between  these, since there are a few dots of white powder around the white image….don’t forget that step!  I used the Itty Bitty Banners stamp set and Framelits (p.134 & 191) to stamp and cut the sentiment. I used Night of Navy and Whisper White layers on a Marina Mist card base.shadow tech-3

This card was inspired by a card I saw on Pinterest from Jenny Engelke. I used versamark ink and White craft ink to stamp the image from the Just Believe stamp set (p.77). I used the new Bitty Butterfly punch (p.13 in the Spring catty) and layered a butterfly from the Beautiful Wings embosslit (p.188). The color combination is Black, So Saffron, Gray, and White. I used a piece of DSP from Summer Smooches designer series paper(p.165). I added a piece of black Scallop Dots Ribbon (p.172).

shadow tech-4

This last card is a very simple version of this technique (inspired by a card I saw on Pinterest). I used only Whisper White card stock and three ink colors: Wisteria Wonder, Lucky Limeade, and Elegant Eggplant. I stamped the image from the Love & Sympathy stamp set (p.54) in one of the three ink colors, and then immediately stamped again, just shifting the stamp slightly from the first image. This creates the shadow without using a second color ink by stamping off to give a lighter shade of the same color. The words are from the Sweet Essentials stamp set (p.140).

This is a really nice and simple technique which gives an image a little dimension. You really don’t need special tools, just ink and card stock.  If you are worried about lining up your images to get the perfect shadow, you can always use a Stamp-a-ma-jig (p.7). This is really one of my most favorite tools…but it never gets enough credit. It makes your stamping fool proof. It positions your image exactly where you want it…straight, aligned, and perfect!!

Hope you get the chance to stamp today. Thanks for stopping by!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

