Wild about you, Valentine!

monkey valentineI have been trying to get all my special Valentines finished off and sent this week, so here is one that I sent to my nephew. I saw this cute idea for a monkey made with punches on Pinterest (click to see the original post).  I just loved the little monkey and decided to make it into a card. I followed the original pretty closely, but changed it just slightly too.

I used a 2-3/4″ circle for the head (I used Nestibilities for the circles) and a Heart Framelit (p.191)(I used the 3rd one from smallest to largest) for the face. I used the Oval Framelits(p.4 in the Spring catalog) for the mouth area (2nd one from smallest to largest). I used the Small Oval punch (p.184) for the ears.  I used a 3-1/4″ circle for the body and another Oval Framelit for the belly (same size as the mouth). Finally, I used the Large Oval punch (p.184) for the arms.  I added the a Red heart cut again with the Heart Framelits and the Happy Valentine Heart was cut with the Full Heart punch (p.182). This image was a single stamp promotion from Stampin’ Up, and is no longer available….too bad, cause it is really cute.  I used Chocolate Chip and Creamy Caramel card stock. Creamy Caramel is one of those “old” colors which is long gone from the catalog, but I still have a nice stash of it. I do miss that color, and sometimes it is just the one that looks the best.bananas over you!

I also made another version of this for a couple little monkeys that I know. I just did the face on these, but added a banner that I printed with my computer for the saying. I added a few banana chips and m&ms for monkey food!!

panda valentine

This is another Pinterest inspired idea….love that Pinterest!! The actual card was made by Erica Cerwin. She makes some really fabulous cards, and I am always so inspired by her. I made this card for my niece, and isn’t it sweet!?  This is also made from several punches and framelits.  I used the Oval Framelits (p.4 in the Spring catty) for the head and body. I used the Blossom Petal Builder punch (p.185)for the ears and eyes, along with a 3/4″ circle punch(p.184) and small circle from the Itty Bitty punch pack(p.183) for the eyes. I used the Small Heart punch (p.183) for the nose and the Small oval punch (p.184) for the feet. I used the Large Oval punch (p.184) for the arms and a  Heart Framelit and the Full Heart punch (p.182) for the Hearts. I added a little red glitter heart that I punched out using the Owl Builder punch (p.185)….I probably use that punch more for that little heart than the owl!!

So, that is my Wild about You, Valentine! post for today. These were so much fun to make and I hope they will bring a smile to the faces of my little Valentines!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

