For my Valentine!

birch bark valentine

I made this card for my husband for Valentine’s day. It has a similar layout to a card that I posted last week, however there are a few special elements on this one. We have a piece of land that is mostly covered by timber. We spend a lot of time out there (especially my husband!), and we enjoy being outside, walking, exploring, and working on trying to improve the state of the woodland. It is a special place and so….last weekend, while on a nice walk out there, we found a piece of birch bark laying on the ground. I snatched it up and instantly had a plan for it. I ended up stamping right on the bark and cutting out the scalloped heart with my Hearts a Flutter stamp set and Framelits (p.11 in the Spring catalog). It really worked well and I was so excited that my idea actually worked. I used the Woodgrain embossing folder (p.189) on the Crumb Cake card base, and I added a little Crumb Cake ink to the folder before I embossed the card stock to give it a little darker shade of color on the recessed areas. I added a piece of First Edition DSP (p.162), and a banner stamped with the Woodgrain background stamp (p.127) and cut with the Hearts a Flutter Framelits (and layered on a piece of Early Espresso card stock). I added a little banner stamped and cut using the Itty Bitty Banners stamp set (p.134) and Bitty Banners Framelits (p.191). I cut a single heart from the More Amore DSP laser cut heart sheet (p.10 in the Spring catty) and layered the birch bark heart onto that using stampin’ dimensionals.birch bark val-inside

I added another strip of bark to the inside of the card using some multipurpose glue and added a sentiment from the P.S. I Love You stamp set (retired). I love to try and personalize cards….afterall, isn’t that part of the fun of making them, to make them JUST RIGHT for the one you are thinking of.  I hope you have a very special Valentine’s Day too! Thanks for looking…

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

