Make It Monday!

Happy Monday! I have been loving my new Swallowtail stamp (p.18 in the Spring catalog). I have to say this is the stamp that caught my eye first in the new Spring catty. The minute I saw it, I knew I must have it! It is a beautiful stamp and looks so pretty anyway that you stamp it…embossed, shimmered, and just plain black. I just LOVE it!swallowtail-1This first card is a slight version of the Chalkboard Technique (that I have described in some of my recent posts). I embossed the image with a versamark ink and white embossing powder. Then I stamped again with a white craft ink just moving the image slightly off to the side of the first image to give it a little dimension. I rubbed the White ink pad around the edges of the black card stock to soften the edges too. This was layered on a piece of Wistera Wonder and a card base of Basic Gray. The sentiment is from the Lacy & Lovely stamp set (p.99). Simply Beautiful….that is really the theme of this stamp.

swallowtail-4These two cards are yet another example of the simplicity of this stamp. I used a Crumb Cake card base, and no other layers. I stamped both images with versamark ink and used white embossing powder on one and clear embossing powder on the other. WAH LAH!!  That is it…tie a ribbon around, add a sentiment, and you have a beautiful and QUICK card. I can see making a collection of these to give as a gift to someone…it would be so fast to make up a bunch of these and they could be used for so many different occasions too!

swallowtail-2This card is also very simple. I again used versamark ink, clear embossing powder, and then added color with a sponge dauber. I started with Daffodil Delight ink, then Pumpkin Pie ink, and finally Tangerine Tango ink. I was careful to apply the ink to the image and just around the edges, and then I used a tissue to wipe the excess ink away (since it will not stick to the embossed areas of the image). It really gives the butterfly a whole new look, and you could use any combination of colors to create endless variations of this. I added a new Tangerine Tango ribbon from the Sale-a-bration brochure, and layered the vanilla card stock piece onto a Pumpkin Pie piece,and a vanilla card base.

swallowtail-3

Finally, this card was inspired by the card sample in Stampin’ Up’s Spring catalog (p.19).  I used Tangerine Tango embossing powder on Calypso Coral card stock. Once this was embossed, I brushed on some Frost White shimmer paint(p.158) over the embossed image. I let it dry just a little, and then wiped with a tissue to remove any extra shimmer paint that did not stick to the embossed image. It really makes the wings shimmer, just like a real butterfly wing. I added an embossed, scalloped border which was created using the Large Scallop Edgelit (p.190) and the coordinating Delicate Designs embossing folder (p.188). Finally, I used the new Borders Scoring plate (p.26 in the Spring catty) to add a raised scalloped line to the lower edge of the vanilla card base.                                                      You can visit: www.stampinup.com/showmehow to see how to use this great new tool.   The sentiment is from the Made for You stamp set (p.44), and there is also a piece of Very Vanilla 1/8″ taffeta ribbon (p.172).

So, I’m sure you can see why I love this Swallowtail stamp. It really makes me think of Spring, and I love creating simple and beautiful cards….so this one fits the bill!! Thanks for looking and Happy stamping!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

