18th Birthday!

Mike's bd cardSo, my youngest son turned 18 yesterday….wow, that is kind of amazing to think about!  I was struggling with a card idea for him, and this is what I came up with. He had a dirt bike last summer that he absolutely loved (and I absolutely hated!), so that was the reason for the motorcycle on the card. I guess you could also say the hill symbolizes the uphill battle over the topic of the motorcycle!!…..but that just came to me right now, so maybe it was just a subliminal thought. HA HA

Anyway, I had this cute stamp that I purchased years ago and have never used it before. That must mean I have too many stamps!! I decided to ink it up for the first time, and now that I have, I think it will be inked up again very soon! It really is kinda cute….

I used markers to color it in and since there was a line under the motorcycle on the rubber stamp, I came up with the idea to create the hill over the 18 by hand drawing an extension of that. I cut out the numbers with my Typeset Alphabet Bigz die (p.192). I added some banners cut from a strip of Tangerine Tango card stock and Real Red DSP from the Polka Dot Parade (p.164) and Daffodil Delight DSP from the Brights Collection DSP (p.153). The sentiment is from the From My Heart stamp set (p.139). Mike's bd card inside

I used the retired Hostess stamp set, Perfect Words, and the Bring on the Cake stamp set (p.142) for the words on the inside of the card. I cut the smaller sized numbers out with another retired product, Timeless Type Alphabet Junior Sizzlits.

He liked the card, and of course, laughed when he saw it…..that was what I was hoping for!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

