Lucky Little Leprechaun

leprechan-2I saw this cute little guy on Pinterest, and I just had to make one too! I am a big fan of St. Patrick’s Day, since I am a little Irish, and have always sent out cards to celebrate. This was really fun to put together and I love how he turned out!

I started with cutting out the card base in Very Vanilla with the Top Note die (p.193). I scored and folded the card stock and made sure to place the fold just below the top edge of the die, so that it would not be cut. This created my card base and the face of the leprechaun. I used a Heart Framelit (p.191) to create the ears. I just cut the heart in half and that made two ears. I used the Top Note die again for the hat and the beard, trimmed them to the desired length, and glued them to the card front. I added a strip of card stock for the hat brim and the hat band. I used my corner rounder punch on the hat band too. The hat buckle was punched out with a 1″ square punch (p.183) and then I used an extacto knife to cut out the center. I used a 3/4″ circle punch (p.184) for the nose and the whites of the eyes, and a 1/2″ circle punch (p.184) and a 1/4″ circle punch for the blue and black portions of the eyes. I used the Extra-Large Oval punch (p.184) to create the mouth by double punching to get a little curved piece of paper. Finally, I created the little shamrock  by punching out 4 hearts with the small heart punch (p.183) and glueing them onto a small circle punch. I used the 3/4″ circle punch to create the stem of the shamrock by double punching to get the little stem piece.

I used a sponge with a little bit of ink to add some color around the edges of the face, ears, and the cheeks.  I colored a rhinestone with a green permanent marker and added that to the center of the shamrock.

May the luck of the Irish be with you! Thanks for stopping by and Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

