Collage Curios

Today I am sharing several cards that I have created using the new Collage Curios stamp set in the new Spring Catalog from Stampin’ Up (p.24).collage curios-2This first card was CASED from a beautiful card by Dawn Olchefske. ** Correction: The original idea came from Cheryl O. I did not realize that the card on Dawn’s blog was actually a card swap from Cheryl, so click here to see Cheryl’s card.  I loved how she used the New Poetry Print DSP stack (p.16 in the Spring Catty) in this card and that led to the beautiful color combination of Summer Starfruit, Midnight Muse, Sahara Sand, and Whisper White. I altered the card slightly by adding a ribbon and some punched butterflies. I also loved the idea of just adding a few punched out pieces of DSP and embossed card stock to add some interest. This is also a great way to use up some of those smaller scraps of DSP and card stock that you may have laying around (if you are anything like me…..you have plenty of that!). Thanks, Dawn, for the inspiration!

Collage CuriosThis next card was inspired by a card by Debbie Kolberg. It also features the DSP from the Poetry Print DSP stack. I loved her card layout and the Natural’s 7/16″ trim ribbon (p.20 in the Spring Catty). I changed this card a little also by using Sahara Sand, Midnight Muse, and Very Vanilla as my color combination. I also used several punches and a framelit to create the focal point of the card. I started with a framelit from the Apothecary Accents Framelits (p.191). Next I added a 1-3/8″ circle punch, a 1-1/4″ scallop circle punch, a 1″circle , and finally a 7/8″ scallop circle (p. 184 and p.16 & 36 in the Spring Catty). Finally, a paper doily (p.5 in the Spring catalog) adds the finishing touch.Collage Curios1This card idea began with the card image on page 24 of the Spring Catalog which featured the Collage Curios stamp set. I started with the center focus of the butterfly image within the Soda Pop Top (p.24 in the Spring catty). I loved that idea, and then I figured out that you can smash the Soda Pop Tops to make them flatter in the Big Shot!! YES…that makes it so much more appealing to be able to flatten them out for a card. Otherwise, they are just too big to have on a card. This way they are about as flat as a button would be on a card and they are very light weight too. I used a Paper Doily again on this card and layered a scalloped circle cut using the Delicate Doilies Sizzlits (p.191) on top of a piece of Natural’s Trim Ribbon. The next layer was a 1-3/4″circle (p.184) punched from the Tea for Two DSP (p.3 in the Spring catty). The card base is So Saffron with a layer of Very Vanilla card stock embossed using the new Honeycomb embossing folder (p.6 in the Spring Catty). I embossed a bit of Tea for Two DSP with the Honeycomb folder and then cut out the small pieces with my paper snips to add to the Vanilla layer (no punch for this…just good ole scissor cutting!).

collage curios2This last card was CASED from a lovely card by Karren J. I really fell in love with the cream on cream idea. It just looks so elegant and beautiful. I kept this very close to her card with Very Vanilla, Black, and Cherry Cobbler as my color combination too. I again used the Delicate Doilies Sizzlit (p.191), just as she did….however I used the flattened Soda Pop Top idea and the Collage Curios stamp set again on this card. I added a piece of Black DSP and a piece of 1/8″ black taffeta ribbon (p.172). Finally, I used the Fancy Fan embossing folder (p.189) and the Lacy Brocade embossing folder (p.36 in the Spring catalog) to emboss the Vanilla layers on the card. Oh, SO NICE!

So, those are just a few ideas for the Collage Curios stamp set. It has become a fast favorite of mine, and I think you can see why. Thanks for looking and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Collage Curios

  1. Cheryl O. says:

    Hello! Just to clarify . . . the card ‘made by’ Dawn Olchefske was actually my shoebox swap card that I brought to our demo meeting – and I CASEd Mary Fish! So Mary get most of the credit. Thanks for sharing your version – it’s beautiful! You can see my original here: http://clocards.blogspot.com/2013/01/ciao-baby-its-spring-collage.html

    • StampinU says:

      Thanks for the clarification. I try to give credit where credit is due, but I’m so glad you let me know that I was not totally correct on this one. I loved the idea and it was so beautiful with the Poetry Prints DSP!

Leave a Reply

