Birch Bark Sympathy Card

Birch Bark sympathyI made this card for friends who lost their mother recently. I wanted to feature a piece of birch bark that I had collected from our timber this winter and it really makes a beautiful and natural focal point in this card. I cut the bark with an Oval Framelit (p.4 in the Spring catty), and layered it on a Not Quite Navy oval also cut with the oval framelits. I will truly miss Not Quite Navy, since it is due to be retired and no longer available. Luckily, I have a package of card stock in my stash….but when it’s gone it’s gone!

I stamped the butterfly image from the Flores suaves stamp set (retired) with versamark ink onto card stock vellum and embossed with white embossing powder. I then cut the image out with my paper snips and added it to the birch bark with a little piece of sticky strip under the body and folded up the wings slightly for some dimension.

I embossed the white card stock layer with the Fancy Fan embossing folder (p.189) and the Needlepoint Border embossing folder (p.5 in the Spring catty). I was careful to emboss the Fancy Fan design only up to the border by placing my clear plates just up to the edge of the border and not over it….that ensured that it would not flatten out the border that I had embossed first.

The sentiment was from the Loving Thoughts stamp set (p.136) and the card base was also Not Quite Navy.sympathy-insideThe inside of the card has a sentiment from the Thoughts & Prayers stamp set (p.54), and the little butterfly, stamped in Not Quite Navy, is from the Papillon Potpourri stamp set (p.115). I stamped the image onto the white card stock layer AND onto a piece of card stock vellum and then punched out that vellum butterfly with the new Bitty Butterfly punch (p.13 in the Spring catty). This vellum butterfly was attached over the other butterfly image with a mini glue dot and the wings were also folded up for dimension.

I love using natural elements in cards…it really gives them a special unique touch. Thanks for stopping by and see you again soon!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

