Dressed for Success!

Hello again!! It has been a LONG time since my last post and that is making me feel very guilty….so, here we go again with some new samples and ideas to get you motivated to get your fingers inky and make some cards!

I recently purchased the Dress Up Framelits (p. 32 in the Spring catalog), and I have been playing around with all kinds of ideas for these dresses. I have been very inspired by all kinds of beautiful cards posted online and a few ideas from my good friend, Jen, too!Dress Form-7

This card was sent to me from Jen, and after receiving it, I was tempted to purchase the framelits to make my own dress cards.

I love the simplicity of this idea…just a pretty dress and not much else. It is a great way to use some pretty designer series paper and add a little bling here and there.

Dress Form -6

This is another idea from Jen. I love the little hanger for the dress (p.28 in the Spring catalog) and again, a simple card with some added embossed accents to create an adorable card for that special someone.

Dress Form-3This card was inspired by a card I saw online at Be Creative with Nicole. She used this basic template, and I switched it up a little by using the Naturals Composition Specialty paper (p.162) for the dress form. I used the Secret Garden stamp set (p.17 in the Spring catty) to create the background images and the One in a Million stamp set (p.135) for the sentiment. I added some little flowers and pearls for some extra bling.

Dress Form -4This card was inspired by a beautiful card from Elizabeth Volker on Pinterest. I really loved how she cut out the dress form and then used the cut out area rather than the actual dress form as her focal point….cool, huh?! ( I used the dress form, from this card, on my next card). I added the Paper Doily Sizzlet (p.191) behind the opening, just as she did, and the words are from the Loving Thoughts stamp set (p.136). I added a few buttons from the Sweet Buttons Embosslits (p.188) and also an actual button from the Neutrals collection (p.176) tied with some linen thread.

Dress Form-5This card idea came from Stampin’ Up. I was able to use the cut out dress form from the previous card as the focal point on this card. I stamped the floral image from the retiring stamp set, Elements of Style, (p.113) and used markers to color in the image. I added a paper doily behind the dress form, and a flower trim piece to the dress form (p.5 in the Spring catty). It may be difficult to see in the image, but there is also a little hint of shimmer, from a spritzing of Gold Glow smooch spritz (p.158) on the card base and paper doily.

Dress Form -5This next card was inspired by another card that I saw on Pinterest. I loved the idea of creating an apron with the large petal punched with the Blossom Petals Builder punch (p.185). I used the Floral District DSP (p.163) as the background paper and dress paper. I also added a large scallop cut out from the Oval Accent Bigz Clear die (p.192), some pearls, and a banner stamped and cut with the Itty Bitty Banners stamp set and framelits (p. 134/191).

Dress Form-2This is another Pinterest inspired card (love that Pinterest!) with the link to the website here. I loved the glimmer on this card….and all the flowers!!  Just lovely…                             I started by cutting out the dress form from the brushed gold metallic card stock (p.160) and added a dress in white over top. Then I added a dress top over top of the white dress cut out from Champagne glimmer paper. I punched out LOTS of small flowers using the Itty Bitty punch pack (p.183) and added little punched out centers from the glimmer paper to the centers of the flowers. These were punched out using the Owl Builder punch (p. 185), believe it or not….it is the little tiny circle for the owl’s eye. I glued all these little flowers onto the lower part of the white dress to create the floral skirt. I layered the dress onto a piece of Soft Suede DSP (p.156)and a frame cut using the Top Note die (p.193). Just a beautiful card….I loved the idea!

Dress Form -1This is my last card for today!! Hope you are not overwhelmed, but it has been a while since I posted, so there are lots of cards waiting to be shared….

I fell in love with a card that I saw from Fran Sabad, and had to CASE it….so here is my attempt. Her card is still much more beautiful, but I actually toned my down a little to simplify it a little. I started with stamping the background using the Flowering Flourishes stamp set (p.121) and then I embossed that piece with the Polka Dot embossing folder (p.189). I layered that onto a Soft Suede card base and added some scalloped circles cut using the Delicate Doilies Sizzlits (p.191) and a Vintage brad (p.174) in the center.  I cut out a dress form from Vanilla card stock, laid a piece of Lace Tape (p.3 in the Spring catty) onto the dress form, used the Travel Journal wheel (p.108) over the dress form and sponged around the edges. Then I removed the piece of Lace Tape and it then creates a mask effect, making the lace tape image remain. I added a little butterfly stamped with the Papillon Potpourri stamp set (p.115) and punch with the Bitty Butterfly punch (p.13 in the Spring Catty). The final element is the Happy Birthday banner, stamped using the From my Heart stamp set (p.139).

So….there you have it….several ideas to get you motivated. I was reluctant to purchase this framelit set, but after seeing all the fabulous ideas that are online…I just couldn’t resist! It truly makes for a Dressed for Success type card!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

