Technique Tuesday- Stained Glass

This is another simple technique that really has a beautiful stained glass look.  All that is required is a piece of vellum, embossing powder, and markers.                                 Stained Glass Technique: Start with a piece of vellum (I love Stampin’ Up’s card stock vellum p. 160 in the current catalog. It’s not to flimsy, so it is nice to emboss with). Next emboss an image with embossing powder and a heat tool. It is best to use an image that has some open areas to color in, so you can see the stained glass effect. After the image is embossed, turn the vellum over, so that you are looking from the back, and color in the image with markers (on the back side of the image).You will see the color through from the right side and it will be a little bit muted. You can blend the colors easily, while coloring in on the back side, to create some darker and lighter colors too.

stained glass-4The Swallowtail stamp (p.18 in the Spring catalog) is a great stamp for this technique. I embossed the image with black embossing powder and used So Saffron, Daffodil Delight, Bashful Blue, Baja Breeze, and Marina Mist markers. I used mini glue dots to attach the vellum to the card stock under the banner and under the butterfly image. This prevented the glue dot from showing up through the vellum.

stained glass-5This card features the Fine Feathers stamp set (p.79). I embossed the feathers in gold powder and colored in with a variety of marker colors. I attached the vellum to the card stock with a brad in each corner (this again prevents any adhesive from showing through the vellum).

stained glass-6I used the Secret Garden stamp set and Framelits on this card (p.17 in the Spring catty). I embossed the flowers with Pewter embossing powder and used Pool Party and Island Indigo markers to color them. I cut several of the flowers out with the framelits and layered them on the card using stampin’ dimensionals under the centers of the flowers. I used the mini silver brads (p.174) to attach the larger vellum layer to the card stock layers of the card.

stained glass-3I used white embossing powder on this card and the Apothecary Art stamp set (p.102). I colored the roses with a Raspberry Ripple marker and the leaves with Gumball Green. I added a banner of vellum stamped with a sentiment from the Loving Thoughts stamp set (p.136). I attached the banner with a mini glue dot on each end of the banner and concealed the left one with the punched out flower and leaves. You can just catch a hint of the glue dot on the right side through the vellum. I cut out the frame using the Labels Collection Framelits (p.191) and was able to hide my adhesive behind that when attaching the layers.

stained glass-2I made this card a while ago and used the retired stamp set, Autumn Splendor. I used Chocolate craft ink and clear embossing powder, at the time, however now there is a Early Espresso embossing powder available in the new catalog.

stained glass-1These were also made a couple years ago and again feature two stamp set which are retired and no longer available in the catalog, Holy Triptych and A Cardinal Christmas. One is embossed with white powder and the other in black. They are both nice examples of this fabulous stained glass technique. I love the combination of the embossed image and the colored vellum to create this easy technique.

I hope you are a little inspired to try this for yourself. It is a favorite technique of mine and I think it may become one of yours too! See you soon….I hope!  I know I have been very absent recently, but I plan to get back into posting more regularly….that darn LIFE just keeps getting in the way!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technique Tuesday- Stained Glass

  1. Wendy Stewart says:

    I’d forgotten about this technique! Thanks for the reminder. I’ve used vellum in various ways over the last 12 years and always find the cards made with it to be elegant and appreciated by all who receive them. Thanks for sharing this excellent (and easy to follow) technique!

Leave a Reply

