Woodgrain Beauties

Oh Hello WoodgrainThis is a fabulous card that my good friend and upline, Jen, came up with for a recent demonstrator gathering that she held. I loved the way the woodgrain popped with the addition of a little bit of white ink sponged over the woodgrain piece of Natural Composition Specialty paper (p.162). It really added a beautiful touch to this already beautiful paper! The card also features the flower from the Oh, Hello stamp set (p.4 in the Spring catty). We used markers to ink the stamp and then cut the image out with the Oval Framelits (p.4 in the Spring catty). This oval layer was added to the card using stampin’ dimensionals. The outer frame is cut using the Apothecary Accents Framelits (p.191), and another Oval Framelit, and was attached using stampin’ dimensionals. Paper piercing was done using the Essentials Paper-Piercing Pack (p.181), and pearls were added for a little extra bling. The banner was cut with paper snips and the sentiment was from the Loving Thoughts stamp set (p.136). We added a little bow of 1/8″ Taffeta Ribbon in Old Olive (p.172).

Woodgrain BirthdaySo, I took that same idea of adding white to the Natural Composition Specialty paper and made a birthday card for my husband. I used that piece as the background for another piece of REAL birch bark found in the woods. This was cut with the Oval Framelits (p.4 in the Spring catty) and layered on another oval of Early Espresso. I stamped the bird directly on the bark and then again on a piece of Crumb Cake card stock. I cut out the bird on the Crumb Cake card stock with my paper snips,  and added some color with a q-tip and pastels for a touch of gold and white. I attached this little bird over the birch bark image using a stampin’ dimensional. The bird image is from a retired stamp set called Spring Song.

Next, I added some leaves cut using the Little Leaves Sizzlit (p.191) under the oval layers. Finally, I used the Perfectly Penned stamp set (p.132) for the Happy Birthday on a piece of Vanilla card stock. I added a couple of Naturals Designer Buttons (to keep with the natural feel of the card), and I colored a piece of white Baker’s twine (p.172) with my Early Espresso marker to add to the buttons. I love that little trick!! You can make any color baker’s twine you want by just using markers to color it….don’t forget that tip.    The last element is a zig zag edge in More Mustard cut using the Finishing Touches Edgelits (p.190). The card base is Crumb Cake with a layer of Early Espresso card stock.

So!….Go color some Natural Composition Specialty paper and see where that leads you. Thanks for stopping by today, and Happy Stampin’!!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Woodgrain Beauties

  1. The one with the bird looks fabulous.

    Greatings,
    Inge

Leave a Reply

