Thinking of You Friend

Well, I thought I would share some cards that I made for my last round of stamp clubs. These cards all feature the single stamp, Just Thinking, which sadly is no longer available from Stampin’ Up. It happened to be in the most recent Spring Occasions catalog, p.21. I really like this stamp, and I really like how it coordinates with the Window Frames Collection Framelits (p.186).

thinking5This card is CASED from Debbie Currier. I did not really change anything about it….since her card was just perfect. I may have used a different ribbon, but essentially it is a complete Copy and Share!

thinking4This card was inspired by a card from Kay Kalthoff, and the color combination was inspired by Dawn Olchefski.  I loved how Kay stamped her image on the card layer, then cut out the image with the Window Frame Collection Framelits to create the window for the image to pop out of. I embossed my layer with the Square Lattice embossing folder (p.191) and layered it on a Midnight Muse card base.  I also used the 2-1/2″ circle punch (p.182) to add the another layer to the image on Vanilla card stock.

thinking1This card is similar in appearance, however I added a layer of DSP, a Window Frame layer which was embossed again with the Square Lattice die, and the image layer. I inked the stamp in Summer Starfruit and then used my Basic Gray marker to color over the center of the stamp to have the color of the words stamp in Gray rather than the Summer Starfruit around the edge. That way I did not have to stamp it a second time, and since the Gray marker was darker than the Summer Starfruit ink, it covered it nicely without damaging my Gray marker.

thinking3This card also uses the Sycamore Street DSP as in the previous card. I also added a strip of Delicate Details Lace Tape (p.171). I love that little extra touch of lace and the ease of it being a tape!

thinking2This is my last sample using this stamp. It was also inspired by a card that I saw, but I’m not sure where. I layered the Just Thinking stamp with a couple of Lables Collection Framelit layers (p.186). The color combination is Baja Blue, Island Indigo, Rich Razzleberry, and Very Vanilla. Lots of layers, but just kind of a simple elegance with the layers and embossing.

SO…..Just Thinking…I will miss this stamp along with so many other retired and discontinued Stampin’ Up items. BUT, it is time to move on to new and better things. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you are able to get out your stamps and get inky today!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

