Masculine One Layer Card

50birthdayHELLO!  I was playing around this past weekend, and needed to get a few cards made for several upcoming events….Here is one that I came up with for a 50th birthday. I always find masculine cards just a little bit more challenging….no flowers, no bling, and no girly ribbon and bows. I was looking around on Pinterest for some inspiration or some kind of spark of an idea…when I happened upon a card that was just simply words on a card base. It was actually an anniversary party announcement with a big date on it and several words….but that was just the spark I was looking for.

e5406f0acbfba409fdcfe83ef15a8807This was that card, and the beginning of my idea. I started by scanning through all my stamp sets to find words that would be appropriate for this particular 50th birthday card. I then started with a Natural Ivory card base, and lightly with a pencil, drew a large rectangle in the center of the card front. I started to lay out the plan for the words to fit within this rectangle, and decided on Old Olive, Not Quite Navy, Gray, and Black as my ink colors. Next I cut out the 50 with my Timeless Type Alphabet Junior Sizzlits (a retired SU sizzlit set) and found the perfect placement within the rectangle.  I used my trusty Stamp-a-ma-jig to line all the words up just where I wanted them and stamped away! Once I finished with all the stamping, I erased the original pencil lined rectangle and decided to add a hand drawn frame to really give the words some pop. I used my Not Quite Navy marker and a ruler, and added the lines, then I colored that in with an Old Olive marker. Next I added some shading by rubbing Crumb Cake ink with a sponge within the the “frame”.  I liked the way that gave it a little more dimension and made it have a slight vintage feel too.

So, you just never know where that little spark will come from…and how it will develop, but just keep looking for it and I’m sure you will see it too!  Happy Stampin’!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

