Technique Tuesday – Interlocking Framelit Gate Fold Cards

Today’s technique is more of a card template than a technique….but we will just go with the technique theme anyway. I shared these cards at my last stamp club meetings and everyone got the chance to make one for themselves too (just so they could see how easy they really are). I first saw this idea from a blog post of Dawn Olchefske (see her card here), and absolutely loved the idea….so this is my version of her card.

interlocking4I wanted to use her original idea of the owl in the tree, but I added a few more tree elements…like the Woodgrain background stamp (p.75) on the card base and the Woodgrain embossing folder (p.190)on the the center oval.interlocking4aThis view shows how the card actually is put together and how it opens. There are two ovals cut with the Oval Framelits (p.186). One is the center oval and the other is an oval frame. I attached the oval frame to the upper flap of the card base and the center oval to the lower flap of the card base (making sure to center the oval within the frame) and then they will interlock to create this unique opening.interlocking4bI used stampin’ dimensionals to attach both the frame and the oval (just make sure to ONLY PLACE ADHESIVE ON THE HALF YOU ARE ATTACHING TO THE FLAP, otherwise you will tape the whole thing shut and it will not open).

I cut the card base 4-1/4″ x 11″ and scored at 2-3/4″ from each end to have the flaps meet in the middle.

IMG_5180This is another sample using the same card base size and scoring directions. I used the Labels Collection Framelits (p.186) on this card and the Apothecary Art stamp set (p.107) and the Loving Thoughts stamp set (p.106) for the image. I added a piece of wide ribbon to the left side of the card base and attached it behind the center piece.inerlocking2aI used stampin’ dimensionals on the outer frame, but attached the center piece with just double stick tape on the left side of the card.acb5a63b85bad191e6f4b64bc1e66924This was the inspiration for my card….loved the ribbon idea!

interlocking1This again uses the same card base dimensions and scoring as listed above. This time I used the Hearts Collection Framelits (p.187), and I cut the center heart smaller than the inside of the frame to give a more open look to the framelits. I like how the background DSP shows through to make the center heart really stand out. This was how I came up with the idea for using the Hearts Collection.502e52d7f46e33acedb4c315fc4289eeIMG_5266Here is another version of that card….I needed an Anniversary card for my cousin and thought this would be a fun card to send. I tried to personalize it by using some colors from the wedding. I am going on memory….so it may not be perfect, but I do remember a little since I happened to be the flower girl for their wedding!!  I remember carrying a white wicker basket of flowers. I remember my dress was white dotted swiss fabric with a pink ribbon sash around the waist. There were daisies and pink carnations….I think…40 years is a long time!  Hope they like it….it sure was fun to create and bring back all those memories.

interlocking3This is my last card sample to share today. Again, this card was CASED from Julie Davison. I used her basic design, but changed the colors and added some background stamping too.  The card base for this card is cut and scored slightly different than the previous cards.

The card base is cut 8-1/2″ x 5-1/2″ and scored at 2-1/8″ from each end. I used the Floral Frames Collection Framelits (p.187) for the frame and punched out the center with the 1-3/4″ circle punch (p.182). I used that same punch for the inner circle on the card and then layered the smallest Floral Framelit onto the circle. I used the Daydream Medallions stamp set (p.115) for the images.

So, that is another idea to put in your technique box of ideas! Give it a try….it is a great way to use those Framelits to create a little WOW in your card making. Thanks for stopping by today….see you soon!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technique Tuesday – Interlocking Framelit Gate Fold Cards

  1. Doris B says:

    Wow! These are all absolutely fabulous cards, terrific ideas! Thanks for sharing!
    Doris B

Leave a Reply

