Chalk Talk Ideas Galore!

Well, I have been busy making lots of samples for my recent stamp clubs and I will be sharing LOTS of ideas in the next few days. I am happy to have lots of samples to show why I have fallen in LOVE with so many new stamp sets in the new catalog. First off, is the Chalk Talk stamp set and coordinating Chalk Talk Framelits (p.12). Better yet….if you purchase these two items together in a bundle you get a 15% discount!chalk talk 1This first card is an idea that I saw somewhere…but I really don’t remember where and so I cannot take full credit, however unfortunately, I cannot give credit where it is due either. Anyway….I used the new Beautifully Baroque embossing folder (p.191) on the Crumb Cake card base. I added a banner from the Eastern Elegance DSP (p.154) and a Crushed Curry scalloped edge cut with the Adorning Accents Edgelits (p.188). I tied a piece of white Baker’s Twine (p.173) around the card front and added the focal piece from the Chalk Talk stamp set (p.12). This was stamped in Crushed Curry and Coastal Cabana and cut out using the Chalk Talk Framelits.

chalk talk 3This card is a little on the masculine side. I used the new Modern Medley DSP (p.154) on a Vanilla card base. I added the large rick rack accent piece in black which was cut using the Tasteful Trim Bigz XL die (p.192), and a little banner from the Hearts a Flutter stamp set (p.124) and coordinating Hearts a Flutter Framelits (p.187). The final touch was the little tag from the Chalk Talk stamp set which was added with stampin’ dimensionals to raise it off the card slightly.

chalk talk 4This card makes that large tag become a beautiful focal point by covering up the tag portion with another small embellishment.  You could put anything over that….a button, a bow, or whatever else you can think of.                                                                                       I used a piece of the new Strawberry Slush Core’dinations card stock (p.140) and ran it through the Big Shot in my Honeycomb embossing folder (p.191). I did not sand it….but you can still get just a hint of the white core of the card stock peeking through. I added that to a white card base. I stamped the “tag” in black Stazon ink and cut it out. I covered the tag opening with a 1-1/4″scalloped circle (p.182) punched from Strawberry Slush and an image from the A Fitting Occasion stamp set (p.86) punched out with a 1″ circle punch (p.182). I added a little branch from the Bird Builder punch (p.183) and a flower punched using the Boho Blossoms punch and the Itty Bitty punch pack (p.183 & 180). Finally, a little added bling with the help of a rhinestone.

chalk talk 2This card was CASED from Julie Davison (click to see her card). She had a great color combination and I liked how she stacked the two images from the Chalk Talk stamp set. I added another layer to the stack which was cut using my Apothecary Accents Framelits (p.187) in Crisp Cantaloupe. I used a piece of DSP from the Venetian Romance designer series paper (p.153) on a White card base. I also have a layer of Basic Gray mixed in there too. I used stampin’ dimensionals under the oval and framelit cut pieces and added the rhinestones as the final touch.

eeb0b684f87bbee02ef89c3b713db07e

This is a card done by Shelli Gardner. She made this simple card and I loved the layout!  I have seen many spin off cards online from this original idea, so it is nice to see what I could come up with too.chalk talk 5My card uses the same basic layout but I changed the color combination to a new Smoky Slate card base and Black tag. I stamped the tag in versamark ink and used white embossing powder to get that “chalky” look. I added a small heart punched from the Owl Builder punch (p.183 ) out of Silver Glimmer paper (p.156) and a larger heart cut using the smallest heart in the Hearts Framelit Collection (p.187). I added a 1/8″ Black taffeta ribbon (p.173) to the tag also. The speckles on the card base were created by using my aqua painter (p.164). I grabbed a little black ink with it and then just speckled away by knocking the aqua painter against my finger to splatter the ink. It was kind of messy, so I would suggest that you make sure to cover your work surface and move anything else out of reach of the spattering….I speckled a few more things than I intended to!

So, there you are!! Several ideas to create using one of my new favorites: the Chalk Talk bundle. Thanks for stopping by today and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

