Technique Tuesday- Chevron Pattern

Hello! Well, today’s edition of Technique Tuesday is all about creating a great chevron pattern using double sided designer series paper. It is a great way to use up some of  those scraps of DSP and create an interesting focal point which feels a little bit like a quilt design. I saw this original idea on Pinterest from a pin of a blog post from Deb Valder (click to see her video and cards). It is a very simple technique.

Chevron Pattern: Cut 5 pieces of DSP 2-1/2” x 1”. Fold the corners of 3 pieces right to left and fold the corners of 2 pieces left to right. Layer on to a  5-1/4”x 4″  piece of cardstock by starting in the corner and alternating the R-L and L-R pieces. You may need to slightly adjust the pieces to fit on the cardstock.

chevron 3I absolutely love how you can see both sides of the designer series paper, and it really has a lot of dimension too with the folded back corners. This card uses the new Venetian Romance DSP (p.153) and the new Modern Mosaic embossing folder (p.191). The color combination is Tangarine Tango, Soft Suede, and Vanilla. I used the Label Love stamp set and punch bundle (p.32/33). I sponged around the punched image and attached it to the card with stampin’ dimensionals. I used a Crumb Cake taffeta ribbon (p.173) as the final element.

chevron4This card uses the Polka Dot Parade DSP (p.154) for the chevron pattern. I attached that to a White cardstock layer that was stamped with the new background stamp, Dictionary (p.100), and that was layered onto a Black card base. I added some White Baker’s Twine (p.173), a little flower punched with the Itty Bitty punch pack (p.180), and a little banner using the Itty Bitty Banners stamp set and coordinating Bitty Banners framelits (p.30/187).

chevron 1This card really looks like dominos….love that! I used the new Modern Medley DSP (p.154) for the chevron pattern and layered it onto a 5-1/4″ x 2-1/2″strip of Island Indigo cardstock. I layered that onto a piece of black cardstock, which was layered onto a Island Indigo card base and Crumb Cake layer. I rubbed my Craft White ink pad along the edges of the Crumb Cake layer to add a little touch of color and soften the edges slightly. I love the way that looks.  The final element to this card is the flower. I used the Fancy Flower punch (p.183) and ran it through the Big Shot using my Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder (p.191). I also rubbed my White ink pad around the edges of the flower to mimic the Crumb Cake layer. Next I punched the larger circle design using the retired stamp set, Circle Circus, and I punched it out with my 1-3/8″ circle punch (p.182). The final layer to the flower is punched and stamped with the 7/8″ scallop circle punch (p.182) and A Round Array stamp set (p.126).

chevron5This card has a nice summery feel to it. I used the new Birthday Basics DSP (p.153) and the Chevron embossing folder (p.191). The card base is Crisp Cantaloupe with a white cardstock layer on top. I used the new Lots of Thanks stamp set (p.29) for the sentiment. The Bermuda Bay colored butterflies are stamped using the Papillon Potpourri stamp set (p.90) and punched out with the Elegant Butterfly and Bitty Butterfly punches (p.183).

chevron2This last card only has 3 pieces instead of 5 for the chevron pattern. I used the new Eastern Elegance DSP (p.154) for the chevron. The card base is Coastal Cabana with a layer of White cardstock, and I used the new Regarding Dahlias stamp set (p.91) for the beautiful floral image, and the sentiment. I stamped the dahlia in Crushed Curry ink. I cut out the image and the layer behind using the new Circles Collection Framelits (p.186), and attached them to the card using stampin’ dimensionals.

Thanks, Deb Valder, for this great technique! I just love it…..and I think you will too! Hope you can get out your paper today and start creating some chevrons. Happy Stampin’!

 

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technique Tuesday- Chevron Pattern

  1. Love your cards! Going off to try this….TFS.

Leave a Reply

