Technique Tuesday- Paper Bows!

Bows, Bows, and more Bows!!  I have seen LOTS of card samples lately using paper bows and they are just the cutest things. I discovered a very simple and clever way to make these little cuties that just made me say “WOW”.  It all starts with an oval punch….you can use either the Extra-Large Oval or the Large Oval punch (p.182), OR  you could even use the smallest oval in the Ovals Collection of framelits (p.186).bow step1

Step 1: Cut 4 extra-large ovals and 2 large ovals.bow step2

Step 2: Use a mini glue dot to attach 2 extra-large ovals together end-to-end and the 2 large ovals end-to-end.bow step3

Step 3: Cut a slit up the middle, and then a slit from each side to the end of the first slit to create a banner on the remaining 2 extra-large ovals.bow step4

Step 4: Attach the banner ovals to the card.bow step6

Step 5: Attach the extra-large “bow loop” ovals over the banner ovals.bow step7

Step 6: Attach the large “bow loop” ovals over the extra-large “bow loop” ovals to create a double bow. Add an embellishment to the center….a button, flower, or brad for example.

bow4

Super EASY!!!  I love it when you can create something so cute with very little effort AND by using something that I already have too….that is a bonus!

bow3This is another example of a bow, however this time I only used the Large Oval punch (p.182) to make a single looped bow. I cut 4 ovals with this punch and used 2 for the bow and 2 for the “ties”.  I did trim down the ovals for the “ties” slightly, so they would not be too large where they meet up with the bow. I added a button to the center of this bow.

bow2I saw this idea from a card by Alicia Thelin, and I loved the idea for a nice masculine card. I also was happy to dig through my old designer series paper and use some up…this is a great technique for small pieces of DSP which is cluttering up your stamp space.  I created the bow loops just as in the description above, however the banners were just strips of paper the same width at the widest part of the oval. I cut the banner points as in the description above also. The biggest difference on this bow is the addition of a strip of paper around the center of the bow. I added a small piece of paper to the back of the loops to spread the loops apart a bit.step1

Then I added a small piece of paper (about 1/4″ – 1/2″ wide) to the center by wrapping around the bow and attaching it to the back.step3step2step5So, just another option for the bow center, rather than the flower or button.

bow1This card was CASED from Rochelle Blok. I really liked how she used all the new In-colors on this card, Strawberry Slush, Crisp Cantaloupe, Coastal Cabana, Pistachio Pudding, and the ink color in Baked Brown Sugar. So, you don’t have to use just DSP, you can also use cardstock to create these little bows. I also used the new hostess stamp set, Express Yourself (p.205) for the words. It is a great stamp set and a good incentive to host a stamp party!

bow5This card features a little bow on a paper clip just like the ones pictured on page 152 of the Stampin’ Up catalog. I really liked the idea of sliding the paper clip onto a tag on a card. That way you can slide it off and use as a bookmark later….a card with a little gift!

I used Modern Medley DSP (p.154) for the bow, and instead of using an oval punch, this little bow was made with just a  strip of paper. IMG_5658

Cut two strips – 4″ x 1/2″ and 3″ x 1/2″. Cut banner points in the 3″ long strip.IMG_5659Fold the 4″ long strip back so the two ends meet in the center.IMG_5660Attach the ends, and this will form the loops of the bow.IMG_5661Attach the loop piece to the banner piece and you have the basic bow.

I then cut some small slits about 1/4″ apart or about the width of the paper clip from the top and bottom sides of the bow. Be careful not to cut all the way across the bow or you will cut your bow in half. Next I used a mini glue dot to secure the bow onto the paper clip. Finally, attach a small strip of paper (about 1/4″ wide) around the center of the bow AND the paper clip. This will form the center of the bow AND help to secure it to the paper clip at the same time.

I used the Chalk Talk stamp set and Framelit bundle (p.12) to create the tag for this card. I used the Mosaic Madness and Background Builders stamp sets (p.123 & 119 to create the background stamping.

bow6This is the final bow for today….I used the new Venetian Romance DSP (p.154), and I cut a 1″ wide strip this time and created the bow just as I did for the paper clip. I added a new  Very Vintage Designer button (p.169) and a tag using the Chalk Talk bundle (p.12).

So, LOTS of ideas and ways to create a cute embellishment for a card or package. Get out that paper, those punches, and get busy making some bows!  Thanks for looking and see you again for more ideas and inspiration.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 3-D Items, Cards, Techniques and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technique Tuesday- Paper Bows!

  1. very nice site good looking your site thanks for sharing information i read it i enjoy this blog.

Leave a Reply

