Happy Holidays!

Well, today is the start of the Holiday Catalog from Stampin’ Up, and the ideas are endless with all the new stamps and products for the upcoming holiday season. If you are like me…you just can’t wait to start decorating for Halloween. So what better time than now to start thinking about it. I am excited to try out some of the new Halloween stamp sets and accessories to get me in the “Spooky” mood!  I recently went to the Stampin’ Up convention in Salt Lake City, and WOW, did I ever get inspired!  I saw a great idea for a quick and easy Halloween banner using the new Witches’ Brew Designer Series Paper (p.21) in the Holiday catalog.halloween banner

This was as simple as cutting up the 12 x 12 DSP into these banner pieces and adding some additional embellishments.  So easy and quick too!banner1I added a paper lolly (I think that is what you call these little folded paper circles) to this first banner piece. I made the paper lolly from a 1-5/8″ wide strip of DSP from the Witches’ Brew DSP. I scored the strip every 1/4″ on my Simply Scored tool (p.178), and attached the two ends with sticky strip and flattened it out. I used hot glue and my Silicone Craft Sheet (p.175) to keep it flat and round. I added a white embossed image to the center which was stamped using the Tags 4 You stamp set (p.37 in the Holiday catalog). I also added a little Orange stampin’ glitter (p.20 in the Holiday catalog) to the center of the circles on the DSP.banner2The second banner has some of the new Witches’ Brew Washi Tape (p.20 in the Holiday catalog) on it AND a skeleton stamped from the Toil & Trouble stamp set (p.20 in the Holiday catalog). I cut the image out with the new Chalk Talk framelits (p.187) and added some ribbon to the tag.banner3The third banner piece has some Orange stampin’ glitter on the spider that was printed on the DSP AND a black crow from the Toil & Trouble stamp set. I punched out the image with the Extra-Wide Oval punch (p.182) and the layer behind was cut with the Labels Collection framelits (p.186).banner4The next banner piece has another image from the Toil & Trouble stamp set and cut out with the coordinating Apothecary Accents framelit (p.187). I added some Black stampin’ glitter (p.20 in the Holiday catalog) to the bat on the stamped piece.

banner5The final banner piece has another paper lolly cut from the Witches’ Brew DSP.   I cut this strip 1″ wide and scored every 1/4″ to make the lolly. I added a white embossed image from the Toil & Trouble stamp set and punched it out with the 1-3/8″ circle punch (p.182). I added a Pumpkin Pie cardstock piece cut with an Apothecary Accents framelit (p.187) and some black brads on each end, as the final accent piece. I also added some Orange stampin’ glitter to the circles on the DSP, to mimic the first banner piece.

half1

half2I attached the pieces together with Pumpkin Pie Glimmer Brads (p.170), and used some black hemp twine (non-SU product) for the ties on each end.

WAH LAH!!   Such a great banner, created in little time, with just a few additional items. I hope you start thinking about your holiday decorating and plan to get some of those projects done early too!  Check out the new Holiday catalog from Stampin’ Up (just click the catalog image on the right sidebar to see it and order too).

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in 3-D Items and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Holidays!

  1. Miechelle, I LOVE this Halloween Banner! Very creative use of the DSP! I made myself one already! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Pamela says:

    WOW! My grandkids will love making this banner with me. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

