A Backyard Basics Summer!

Well, I’m all refreshed and recharged after a week off for a little vacation time. So, time to get back to it with several samples from one of my favorites from the new Stampin’ Up catalog….Backyard Basics and the coordinating Backyard Basics Framelits (p.79/187).  I love spending time outdoors in my garden, so this set just called to me from the moment I saw it in the catalog. I made several cards recently with this set that I will be sharing today.Mary Fish Backyard basicsThis first card is CASED from Mary Fish. I really did not change very much on her original idea….just the sentiment (I used the Four You stamp set on p.22) and I omitted the vintage brad that she used on her card. I inked my image and sentiment with Stazon Black ink, instead of embossing them as she did. I liked the simplicity of the idea and the Eastern Elegance DSP (p.154) worked very nicely with the butterfly image. It is so easy to cut the oval frame with the Oval Framelits (p.186) too. I love those framelits!

CASED Backyard basicsThis card is also a CASED idea from Laura Milligan. This is another fairly simple card idea, but also has a nice vintage feel to it. I did not really change anything from her card. I used the same Backyard Basics bundle (p.79), Modern Medley DSP (p.154), Very Vintage designer buttons (p.169), Deco Labels Collection Framelits (p.186), Honeycomb embossing folder (p.191), and a Paper Doily (p.156). I added a hint of color to the Honeycomb embossed piece with a sponge and some So Saffron ink.

basic backyard basicsAnother CASED idea…this time from Deena Boos.  I altered her idea slightly by making it a one layer card. Quick and easy for those last minute card needs. I used Stazon Black ink and the butterfly image from the Backyard Basics stamp set and framelits. I added a little touch of color to the raised butterfly image with a blender pen and some Coastal Cabana and Pistachio Pudding ink. I added it to the card with a stampin’ dimensional. The sentiment is from the So Sorry stamp set (p.68). I used Naturals White cardstock (p.156) for the card base and Whisper White for the popped up butterfly.

tulips backyard basicsThis idea came from a card that I saw on Sharon’s Inky Fingers. I liked the idea of cutting out several tulips from the Backyard Basics set and making a little bouquet on the card. I added some stampin’ dimensionals under a couple of the tulips to give it a little dimension too. I used a Very Vanilla card base, a Pear Pizzazz layer cut with the Large Scallop Edgelit (p.188), a Very Vanilla piece cut using the Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border punch (p.181), and a layer of Venetian Romance DSP (p.153). I added an Old Olive 1/8″ Taffeta Ribbon (p.173) to the bouquet and a sentiment from the new Express Yourself hostess stamp set (p.205).

window backyard basicsLast….but not least…is this card that I created using lots of stampin’ stuff! I would not put this in the category of quick and easy, however it is fun to go all out sometimes too!  I started with a Pool Party card base and embossed a border using the Needlepoint Border embossing folder (p.190). I added a Deco Labels Collection framelit piece (p.186) which was also embossed with the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder (p.191). The next layer is a piece of Epic Day This and That DSP (p.154) which I folded into a window by using the Folded Frames Technique (click to see the previous post with directions). I added the flower and butterfly images to the card and colored them in with markers.

Well, those are just a few of the ideas that I have played around with from this great Backyard Basics stamp set and framelit bundle. Don’t forget, since it is a bundle, you save 15% if you purchase them together. Thanks for stopping by today and hope to see you back here very soon!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

