Gorgeous Grunge Birthdays!

grunge 2I saw some wonderful card samples at the Stampin’ Up Convention a few weeks ago, and took a bunch of photos to try and capture those great ideas…..so today I will be sharing a couple cards that were inspired by some of those cards.

I saw a card on the convention boards that used all kinds of layered embossing and it really had a great WOW factor. I loved the use of several different embossing powders AND the way that the images were just piled on top of each other. The Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (p.109) is just perfect for this look too!  This card is a very similar to the original card idea….but with a couple changes. I used Wild Wasabi as the card base and layered a piece of Crumb Cake on top. I used the Off the Grid stamp (p.108) for the grid image in the center and stamped that in Crumb Cake ink. I just rubbed the edge of my versamark pad on the card and used Early Espresso embossing powder to add the swatches on either side of the grid. I repeated that same step again using White embossing powder. Next I added the images from the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set and embossed with Wild Wasabi and Pewter embossing powders.  I added a banner with a greeting from the Remembering Your Birthday stamp set (p.16) and a butterfly from the Papillon Potpourri stamp set (p.90), which I punched out with the Elegant Butterfly punch (p.183). Finally, I added the Early Espresso Baker’s twine (p.173) as the final element.

grunge 1This card was also inspired by a couple cards that I saw at convention. One card had a similar layout and the HEY came from a second card . I really liked the big letters and it just yelled MASCULINE to me. I used a Smokey Slate card base, and layered that with Black and White cardstock layers. I used Smokey Slate, Black, and Crushed Curry ink with the Gorgeous Grunge images. I used the Remembering Your Birthday stamp set (p.16) for the sentiment, and I did some selective inking with a black marker to only stamp the Happy Birthday from the stamp which actually had Belated and some other words on it too. I cut the HEY with my Alphabet Typeset Bigz dies (p.192) out of Smokey Slate cardstock, and attached them to the card with stampin’ dimensionals.

So, lots of great ideas from convention. It was my first trip to Salt Lake City and the Stampin’ Up Convention…..and what a great time!!  I came home with so many ideas that my head was just filled to the brim. I was definitely on a stampin’ high!!  I look forward to sharing lots more of these ideas with you. Thanks for stopping by today and see you soon.

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gorgeous Grunge Birthdays!

  1. Chris Hnatiuk says:

    Hi Miechelle! I just discovered your blog this morning, and I’ve been here for over an hour — just thoroughly enjoying ALL of your wonderful creations! There isn’t ONE of your cards that I can say isn’t a work of art! Kudos to you…I am subscribing to get email updates to your blog now! Thanks for the wonderful inspiration, Girl! Chris in Calgary, AB Canada

    • StampinU says:

      Thank you so much! That really makes me feel good…I am still trying to perfect my blogging, and am continuing to learn little tips and tricks, so it is so nice to hear that there are actually people out there looking and appreciate what I have posted!!
      You made my day!

  2. Joni says:

    You went to a Stampin up convention??!!! Lucky you! Will love to hear all about it sometime. You’re big time now!

Leave a Reply

