Undefined IOWA & Freshly Made Sketch #100!

Undefined IOWALOOK WHAT I MADE!  I have had this nice little stamp carving kit sitting on my stamp table for the last 2 weeks, just waiting for the right image to be carved…..suddenly at midnight last night, this came to me!!  I wanted to try something fairly easy for my first stamp carving, and something that I would get a lot of use of too…..TAH DAH!  The state of IOWA fit the bill.  I just found a nice image online and printed it off. I then traced around the image with a pencil, rubbed the pencil lined paper image onto the rubber surface, and carved away around the outside of the outline with the tools.  It was really pretty easy….and I love the results!

I decided to use today’s Freshly Made Sketch #100 for my card sketch today. It is a retro sketch from Freshly Made, since it is their 100 Sketch Anniversary, and so this is actually the first sketch they ever posted online (#1)…FUN!Sketch 1

I wanted to ink up my new IOWA stamp, and this was the perfect sketch for the first official inking!

FMS100I started with an Early Espresso card base and layered it with a piece Crushed Curry and a Crumb Cake Core’dinations (p.157) layer (which I embossed with the Chevron embossing folder (p.191)). I added some DSP from the new Sweater Weather Designer Series Paper (p.18 in the Holiday catalog). I stamped my IOWA stamp with Pear Pizzazz ink, stamped off to lighten the ink tone, and then kissed it with the Positively Chevron background stamp (p.126) which was inked in Wild Wasabi. WAH LAH!  Doesn’t it give you the impression of fields across the state!! LOVE IT!  I used a Wild Wasabi cardstock layer to tie together the card.  The corn cob is from the retired stamp set, Perfectly Preserved, and cut out with the Cannery framelits set (also retired….bummer).  I used my markers to ink up the corn cob and added a little two-toned effect by using So Saffron and Crushed Curry markers for the corn kernels.  Finally, I added 3 Wild Wasabi Candy Dots (p.171) for the final elements of this sketch.  I just love how this turned out and who knew that such inspiration can happen in the middle of the night!!

I can’t wait to come up with my next idea to carve. It was super easy, and I am a lot less intimidated by the whole process now. Thanks for stopping by…see you from the Hawkeye State!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Stampin' Up Promotion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Undefined IOWA & Freshly Made Sketch #100!

  1. Beth Deninger says:

    This is wonderful, Michelle! So creative and you did so well with the carving of the stamp! I have been afraid to try this, but maybe I will now!

  2. Linda Suarez says:

    Wow! Carving your own stamp! I love it! Thanks so much for joining us in this special Freshly Made Sketches celebration!

Leave a Reply

