Technique Tuesday – Magical Masking Tape

It’s time for another edition of Technique Tuesday! This week I wanted to show you a few cards that I made for my stamp clubs, which feature a great technique called Magical Masking Tape.  I first saw this technique on some cards on Pinterest and then realized that there was a nice tutorial on Splitcoaststampers.com (click to see the tutorial).

I love this technique because all you really need is masking or blue painter’s tape and ink! It is a great way to add an interesting background to any stamp project.

Magical Masking Tape: Tear off a strip of masking tape or blue painter’s tape and lay it sticky side down onto an ink pad. Place the tape onto a piece of cardstock and rub lightly with your finger to transfer the ink onto the tape.                                               Carefully peel off the tape and repeat the process with different strips of tape and ink, if you like.

A second method is to stick the tape onto a clear block. Ink up the clear block and stamp onto a piece of cardstock.*You may get a slightly better impression if you place a foam pad under your cardstock, and then stamp with the tape covered clear block.

I will share some cards tomorrow using the second method of this technique.masking tape tech: Mag. MapleThis is my first card. I used Crushed Curry as my card base, and layered a Black and White layer on top.  I used Crushed Curry, Always Artichoke, Perfect Plum, and Cajun Craze ink colors (all from the Regals Collection of Stampin’ Up colors). I just laid the sticky side of the masking tape onto the ink pad, and used the entire length of the ink pad to create the same length of ink for each strip of color. It was easy to line them up using  the edge of the previous strip and the edge of the masking tape.  I used the new Magnificent Maple stamp (p.18 in the Holiday catalog) and Black Stazon ink to add the leaf image. The words are from the Regarding Dahlias stamp set (p.91). This card was CASED from a card that I saw made by Leena Girsa. I changed it slightly, but it was her idea that inspired my version. Thanks, Leena!

masking tape tech:Lovely Romance

This card may be a little harder to appreciate the masking tape effect initially, because it is the same width as the stamped image that is stamped over top the masking tape strip of color. I used the Lovely Romance stamp set (p.63) for the image and just stamped it repeatedly in each ink color over the masking tape strip of the same color. I used the     In-Colors: Baked Brown Sugar, Pistachio Pudding, Coastal Cabana, Crisp Cantaloupe, and Strawberry Slush. The card base, layer, and ribbon are Early Espresso, and I added a piece of Venetian Romance DSP (p.153), since it matches the stamped image perfectly! There is a little tag punched out with the Little Labels Punch Pack (p.181) and stamped with the “Thanks” from the Lovely Little Labels stamp set (p.108).

I absolutely love this technique! I hope you can see how easy it is to create this quick, unique background with no gadgets, just masking tape!  I will be back tomorrow with another spin on this same technique and a few more cards to share. See you then!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

