Technique Tuesday – Magical Masking Tape, Part 2

Ok, I’m back with a few more cards to share using yesterday’s technique, Magical Masking Tape. Please refer to that post for all the directions on this great technique.

masking tape tech:Beautifully BaroqueThis card is using the second method that I mentioned yesterday. I actually stuck the wide blue painter’s tape directly to my clear block (block E in this case), and then applied ink to the tape covered block. I then stamped onto a piece of white cardstock to create the interesting background that you see here. EASY!!  You can even leave the tape on the block for future use, if you want. Just clean it off, as you would a rubber stamp, and use it again…over and over.  *One tip: you may get a slightly better image or impression if you place a piece of fun foam, or a foam piercing mat UNDER your cardstock, so that you have a little “give” when stamping your tape image.

This card was inspired by a card by Robin Merriman, which I loved since she used the Beautifully Baroque stamp (p.113). I had purchased this stamp, but it had not been inked up yet, and I was just waiting for the right card to show off its beauty!  I used a Pool Party card base, Island Indigo and White layers, and some banners in Island Indigo and Silver Glimmer. I added a few rhinestones to the image and WAH LAH!

masking tape tech: Festive FlurryI took that same basic idea for this card, but use a slightly bigger clear block (block F) to add the wide blue painter’s tape to. I stamped the masking tape covered block with Soft Sky onto the white card stock layer and added some snow flakes from the Festive Flurries stamp set (p.30 in the Holiday catalog) in Midnight Muse ink and Versamark ink that I embossed with Pewter embossing powder. I created the two-toned color of snowflakes by stamping one and then stamping again without re-inking, for a slightly fainter color. I added a piece of Silver metallic cardstock to the Midnight Muse card base, and finally a banner with the “Merry Christmas” from the More Merry Messages stamp set (which is a carry over set, not pictured in the catalog, but still available for purchase….shop online by clicking on the catalog on the right side bar). The final touch is a rhinestone in the middle of the embossed snowflake for a little bit more sparkle.

Remembering Christmas: masking tape techThis last card also uses clear block F, but this time I tore the strips of tape and left some gaps in-between to make it almost have a brick wall effect.  I inked up the tape covered block with Crumb Cake ink and added a little Chocolate Chip ink here and there for some added dimension. It is kind of hard to appreciate the slight variation of color, but I kind of like that subtleness. I added the deer image from the Remembering Christmas stamp set (p.28 in the Holiday catalog) with Black Stazon ink. I used a Crumb Cake card base, some layers in Black and Vanilla, and a layer of the Sweater Weather DSP (p.18 in the Holiday catty). LOVE that line of designer series paper!! The final element is the banner stamped with the words from the Walk in the Wild stamp set (p.72).

I hope you try this version of the Magical Masking Tape technique too. It is probably even a little easier than the previous version using the sticky side of the tape (there is more chance of getting inky fingers with that method), so get some tape and start stampin’!  Thanks for stopping by today, and Happy Stampin’!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

