Multi-Color Embossing

embossingSince I have been on the Heat Embossing theme recently, I will stay with that idea, and add a little twist. I shared some tricks and tips for heat embossing at my last round of stamp clubs, so this card was a nice example of how you can use two colors of embossing powders on a single image to create a two-toned look.  I saw a card similar to this on the sample boards at the Stampin’ Up Convention, and that is what got me thinking about using the embossing powders this way.

I used the word stamp set, Word Play, which I just realized is retired and no longer available for order!!! UGH… I stamped the words with Versamark ink and added the Tangerine Tango embossing powder to the upper part of the stamped image. I tapped off the excess powder by tipping the cardstock up, so I wouldn’t get the powder on the lower part of the image. Then I added the Tempting Turquoise powder to the lower part of the image and tapped the excess off the bottom of the piece. This way I get two colors of embossing powders without mixing the leftovers.  I used a Tangerine Tango card base with Basic Gray and Epic Day This and That DSP (p.154) layers.  I added some Epic Day Washi Tape (p.155) and some rhinestones to finish it off.

I really love the Epic Day Collection of products. They have a nice “worn” look which can be used for feminine and masculine type cards. I hope you get out your embossing powder and try this easy trick. It will give your images a new look, that will make everyone wonder….”how did you do that?”!

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

