Stepped Up Heat Embossing

I was very inspired by the stepped up heat embossing ideas that were presented at the Stampin’ Up Convention this summer.  It made me start to think about all the different types of SU products that you could actually add embossing powder to, to make them even more special or dramatic on your cards.  They showed how fabulous embossing powder looks on buttons and designer series paper, and that made me think of pearls, brads, ribbon, and paper doilies! embossing Venetian Romance

This card shows some gold embossing powder speckled across the DSP, added to the  ribbon, on the butterfly layers and pearls, AND added to the edges of the Label Collection Framelit piece.  WOW, isn’t that nice!                                                                                            I started with a Very Vanilla card base and added the Etcetera DSP layer (p.153), which was speckled with gold embossing by using the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set (p.109). I added a piece of Baked Brown Sugar Ruffled Stretch Trim (p.173) and Natural Trim (p.173) which was also gold embossed with the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set.  I cut 2 pieces of Vanilla cardstock with the Labels Collection Framelits (p.186) and used the Background Builders stamp set (p.119) to add the script onto the top layer. I also rubbed the edge of that same layer across my versamark pad and then added more gold embossing powder.  Finally, the butterfly layers were cut with the Bitty Butterfly punch, the Elegant Butterfly punch (p.183), and the Beautiful Wings Embosslit (p.188). I added some gold embossing with the Gorgeous Grunge stamp set again AND added some gold embossed pearls to the center.

I think this card really has lots of WOW factor. It is a great example of stepping up your heat embossing and thinking outside the box. TRY IT….you may come up with even more things to emboss!

 

About StampinU

I am an independent Stampin' Up! demonstrator in the state of Iowa. I have been in love with card making ever since I got my hands on my first rubber stamp many years ago! I have been a Stampin' Up! demonstrator since 2004, and it is great to be able to share what I love: new stamping products, new stamping techniques, and new stamping creations!
This entry was posted in Cards, Techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

